1GB or 2GB of RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2006, 03:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default 1GB or 2GB of RAM

I'm not sure wether to get 1GB comprising of 2x512 sticks or 2GB comprising or 4x512 sticks or 2x1GB sticks. I have a X800GTO2 graphics card overclocked and unlocked and a AMD Athlon X2 3800
I use my comp for games and work and music editing.
I think i'll get 2GB at least as most games say they recommend 1GB. But i'm not sure wether to get 4x512 therefore filling up all my memory slots so stopping upgrade potentional. But they will run faster as they are smaller modules and can be run in dual channel mode. Although i hear that filling up all memory slots makes the RAM a little slower. So wht shall i do get 4X512 or 2x1GB and have upgrade potentional ??
__________________

__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

of course 2x1GB hands down.
__________________

__________________
NZXT Tempest
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
EVGA 9800GT
Corsair Dominator 4GB
Ultra LSP 750W
123Justin is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 04:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

OF COURSE 2X1GB HANDS DOWN
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 04:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Today's games demand 2GB for eye candy, 2x1GB hands down.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

kk guys cheers Any suggestions on which RAM. All i want is some good normal RAM as i hear that OC RAM ain't worth it. Although i am overclocking i'm just gonna use a memory divider. As its actually not that much better performence with no memory devider. Soo any suggestions.
__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Default

Just get some nice G.SKILL. and if you can get the DDR500 one...its very nice my freind owns it and BF2 runs like silk
__________________
I wish I had my Computer...:(
Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 88
Default

I hear 4x 512 can get fuked up. Go with 2x 1gb G.Skill.
5u1c1d47m0nck3y is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 03:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

kk Cheers . I probs get g-skill depending on the price though but anyway i now know at least not to get 4x512 So i porbs get g-skill. K cheers again :bald:
__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

is 4 X 512 not good? i'm thinkin of gettting that.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

4x512MB can be significantly slower than 2x1GB and many circumstances. You will likely only benefit 2GB if you're going to be playing the newest high-end games or you multitask alot.
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.