1600x1200 CRT or 19" LCD? - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 07:31 AM   #61 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

DVI is digital, VGA is analog. DVI sends information for each pixel to the LCD, so it is created by the LCD. Analog however, is when the GPU buts the image together in the graphics card then sends the image to the monitor. CRTs have to use analog. DVI is slightly better then VGA LCDs.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 08:37 AM   #62 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

They also released a couple CRT's using DVI some time ago.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 10:47 AM   #63 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

i have used quite a few lcds for gaming. I hate the resolution on them,, and i dont want to spend a thousand bucks or so just to get semi decent resolution.

I just bought an hp 24" crt for 200 bucks off of ebay. It can display 2303x1440@80hz. I will never use an lcd for gaming. Why would you wanna have a kick *** machine if you dont use hardly any of its power because your are displaying in a crappy resolution.

i guess thats just me. I can play on it all day and my eyes dont hurt... but lol yea you cant take a crt toa lan party. oh well..... Thats what i got my sager 9890 laptop for.
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 02:31 PM   #64 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jseber1982
[B]I just bought an hp 24" crt for 200 bucks off of ebay. It can display 2303x1440@80hz. I will never use an lcd for gaming.[B]
Neither will anyone in their right mind run a game on 2303x1440.

And 1280x1024 resolution is plenty. 1600x1200 may look better, but you suffer performance loss.

1280x1024 w/8xAA 16xAF > 1600x1200 CRT. The performance would be better too, since you cut your FPS in half going from 1280x1024 to 1600x1200. On top of that, for $200 off eBay, you can get a 4ms LCD monitor, so picture quality and ghosting are not a problem. A win-win situation.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 03:37 PM   #65 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Green Radience
Neither will anyone in their right mind run a game on 2303x1440.

And 1280x1024 resolution is plenty. 1600x1200 may look better, but you suffer performance loss.

1280x1024 w/8xAA 16xAF > 1600x1200 CRT. The performance would be better too, since you cut your FPS in half going from 1280x1024 to 1600x1200. On top of that, for $200 off eBay, you can get a 4ms LCD monitor, so picture quality and ghosting are not a problem. A win-win situation.
Lower response time does not neccesarely stand for higher picture quality.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 03:55 PM   #66 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

If you are playing at 1600x1200 or higher you won't need AA. You just need to put AF on.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/326/13/

I barely call that a 50% performance reduction from 12x10 to 16x12.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/326/17/

Look at the X1600 XT in the HL2, it's only a 15 frames dropped from 12x10 (73fps) to 16 x 12 (58fps).

The drop from 12x10 to 16x12 is around 20%. 16x AF doesn't drop performance enough for you to say 16x12 w/ AF is a 50% reduction in performance from 12x10.

In FEAR, moving from 12x9 with 4xAA and 16xAF to 16x12 with 4xAA and 16xAF was roughly around 29% or 30% performance drop.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:31 PM   #67 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

ahh! its all so tempting....12x10 cranked or 12x16 anis low AA. Its the not just choosing between resolutions to play at because the 16x12 would have to be crt. uggg
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.