$160 + PII = Uber budget gaming comp? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2005, 01:19 AM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

An Athlon 64 system requires 18A on the +12v rail. Its a Sempron 64, so it takes a bit less power. You should be ok. Don't completely disregard the Wattage.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:20 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

Well if you're going to oc more than half a ghz I myself don't see the psu holding up.

I would get one of these:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148027
I know it's aspire and people here might not like antec for psu's, but I have one myself and I love it (not the same kind, I have a 520w black/blue one). I personally think it's better than the thermaltake.

or even better, Fortron 400W. Really good dual rails and an overall sturdy psu for under 40$
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104952
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953
__________________

__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:23 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

I'm not disreguarding it, I'm just looking at all sides of it.
You could get one easily better for about the same price.
I know the Sempron wont need as much power, but do you seriously think the thermaltake one would be able to withstand an overclock of a ghz? I don't think so myself.
All other things considered too; if he gets the 6600GT or 6800GS it's going to need more power aswell
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:27 AM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yes, the TT one will handle it. Don't overhype, be realistic.

On the other hand, I'm loving that Antec one. Same price, and same rebate, but twice the amps. While I love Forton (I've got the second Forton myself) the Antec is significantly cheaper, atleast in this case.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:31 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

LOL oops I meant aspire. It's not antec, it's aspire.
it's late, sorry.

and I'M NOT OVERHYPING, WHY NOT GET A MORE STURDY AND RELIABLE PSU FOR THE SAME PRICE IF POSSIBLE? I mean if I knew I could get something for the same price but it's better, I'd get it.
Yes, the ThermalTake SHOULD be able to handle it, but why take the risk? The ones I posted have like the total amount of amps the tt has in one of the 12v rails lol.
Even if he doesn't need it for the system now, it'd be smarter to get something better so if he wants to upgrade later on he can.
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:32 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Wait a sec, isn't the 1st one an Aspire?

Also, might as well ask it now since I'm buying tomorrow, I'm going to get the OCZ ModStream 520Watt for MY computer, which I've listed the specs I'm going for in my sig.

here's the newegg page for it,
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817104155

EDIT: haah ok there we go, just saw that

EDIT EDIT: Ya, I have no idea about PSUs, all I know to look for is brand and wattage lol... Thank you both for the 2nd opnion, I try really hard to get the most out of my $$$, starting up a graphic art/3D company when I'm outta high school. That's another reason I'm helping him buy a comp, cause he's going to be helping me.
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:42 AM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

The OCZ is great.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:44 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

lol if you end up really short on budget and you can deal with agp, look at this deal
http://shop2.outpost.com/product/470...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG
Amd sempron 3100 + ecs motherboard
but it's like socket a and the motherboard isn't so great
I dunno, only if you find out you cant spend much
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:50 AM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
The OCZ is great.
Awsome.


Haha.. If I was going on a $20 budget, I'd just give him a 1.8 Duron on a 4x agp mobo that I took from a friend. I convinced him to try to get a system that can be upgraded and performs pretty well.

I guess I'll go w/ the Aspire instead. Plan on buying an Aspire X-Plorer case anyway.

Thanks again for the suggestions. Will be buying some time tomorrow.
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:51 AM   #30 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

K for one the PSU not holding up is ********. I had my 148 OCd to 2.9 w/ all that crap in my sig runing perfectly fine on my GENERIC Raidmax PSU w/ 13amps on the 12v rail. Yea you heard me. And now im running my OCd 3800+ X2 and OCd 6800GT w/ it to w/ 4 blue LED fans, 2 12" cold cathodes and many other fans along w/ many other things. Yea, anything will hold up trust me. If you have bad power though i suggest not doing that. Now what is up w/ ppl telling him the same things ive already said? Not to mention i offered a better deal. FRYs has a 3500+ plus ECS mobo for 199. S939 to be exact. Kthanx.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.