$1500 Upgrade - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2010, 12:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: $1500 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkpitt45 View Post
Really? Always thought it was the amount of connections it had? Oh well good to know, thanks.
It depends on software and how the outputs are connected physically. Often cards will have an HDMI and a DVI output that are connected to the same physical location so it's either one or the other.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: $1500 Upgrade

See any problem with running the 8800GT next to the 470? I mean for heat build up.
__________________

pswayne is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:58 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,662
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: $1500 Upgrade

The 470 doesn't get quite as hot as a 480, I believe about 93c after a while at absolute max load, but real world temps will never be that high.
So to answer your question, running those two next to eachother should be fine.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:31 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: $1500 Upgrade

Almost ready to buy, but have questions about Ram.

I had planned on getting the GSkill, Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Series 12GB (6 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7T2-12GBPI, but have seen other similar builds on this forum recommending this OCZ Newegg.ca - OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Model OCZ3G1600LV6GK

I thought this board and cpu combo required 1.5V as in the GSkill I chose, but the OCZ is 1.65V . And the OCZ timings are higher. What's up with that? Have I chosen the wrong Ram?

Also, I'm going to buy 2GBx6, which would populate all six slots. What if down the road I wanted to add more Ram? Can I buy 4GBx3 and leave the other 3 slots open?
pswayne is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 09:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,662
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: $1500 Upgrade

I wouldn't go with the 12Gb set. Often filling all six slots results in poorer performance.
The OCZ golds are a tried and true set, good enough timings too. My old ram was 9-9-9-24 and it ran like a champ, so 8-8-8-24 is plenty fine.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 09:26 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: $1500 Upgrade

Okay, but what about the higher voltage on the OCZ? Thought the Gig board said 1.5V.

I'm listening, but other than populating all 6 slots how can I install 12GB? I don't see any 4GB sticks on Newegg.
pswayne is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 10:08 AM   #17 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: $1500 Upgrade

why do you want 12gigs of ram?
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 10:41 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: $1500 Upgrade

Thought I mentioned that. Heavy loads on photoshop cs5 requires lots of ram and cpu power.

What's the best way to install 12GB?
pswayne is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,662
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: $1500 Upgrade

I work at a graphics company, we use Macs for our photoshopping needs. The max ram any machine has is 8Gb, most only have 4Gb, some even have 2Gb.

The 4Gb machines work fine, so long as you've got a powerful cpu. 6Gb will be plenty.

As for the differing voltage on the two sets of ram, it's down to how the chips were designed.


If you REALLY think you're gonna need 12Gb tho, the OCZ gold's are once again a good set http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227422
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: $1500 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by pswayne View Post
Thought I mentioned that. Heavy loads on photoshop cs5 requires lots of ram and cpu power.

What's the best way to install 12GB?
I've been playing with a copy of the CS5 pre-release build, it runs pretty much the same, if not better then cs4. You don't need 12gb, I'm running 4gb and its perfectly smooth.
__________________

__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a little upgrade help Fulcrum System Upgrades 26 06-22-2009 04:15 AM
Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel? M4A1 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-10-2009 12:07 AM
Upgrade Question Brodom New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-01-2009 03:02 PM
Vista Upgrade Issues aeroplane22 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-20-2008 08:45 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.