15,000 RPM HDs - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2005, 02:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Oh i see that you are comparing same sized drives. NVM. I see your point
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 02:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PoisonPorkchop
Oh i see that you are comparing same sized drives. NVM. I see your point
Yep. Most people already gripe about the (relatively) small 74 gb capacity of the raptor so...


I've got nothing against SCSI... it's price is just rediculous is all. I'd love it if i had the money .
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 10:41 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would definately like to use SCSI, but the price, of even just te controllers are way too high.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 11:24 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

Wow guys.. Come on, seriously, why sepnd so much on a HDD setup. Its insane. SCSI are only used for server usage and such. They deliver faster speed than the 10k raptors or the 7200 satas.. for about 600$ more..

You can get a nice raid setup with simple sata HDDs and perform jsut as good as having 1 15k SCSI. The main point of getting the scsi hdds is for the datatransfer of 320 mb/s compared to the 150 on satas. Windows doesnt even support that speed, so no use. Its mainly for servers, so it can spread the speed throughout many different pcs.

You guys probably wont be able to make a difference with scsi hdds at your level...
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 11:43 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

The main point of getting the scsi hdds is for the datatransfer of 320 mb/s compared to the 150 on satas. Windows doesnt even support that speed, so no use. (woops, this is from Toast above ^)

What speed does windows support up to? Hopefully this doesn't fall too far out of the scope of this thread.
__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 11:46 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

im not sure, but i beleive xp is 100 mb/s i may be wrong though, im trying to look up
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

The whats the point of having sata HDDs that are 150?
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Or UATA at 133? Im willing to bet its at least 150
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

RPMs, easier connection. Bigger buffer. usually lower latencies.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 01:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

I was wondering the same thing as PoisonPorkchop. U-Toast is all over that one!!! makes sense.
__________________

__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.