12v Rails... Wah? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2007, 08:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default 12v Rails... Wah?

Well I've been hearing talk about amperage on the 12v rails... and that, thats what you really need in a PSU...

what does this mean:

Quote:
+3.3V(36A), +5V(30A), +12V1(18A), +12V2(18A), +12V3(18A), +12V4(18A)
four 12v rails? do you add all the amps from the 12v's up?
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 08:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: 12v Rails... Wah?

Yes. But I belive less rails is more desirable. So 72amps on 2 rails is better than 72amps on 4 (or so I've heard).
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 12v Rails... Wah?

So that would be 72A over four rails. I do agree with dario, in that less rails is preferred, but most people won't know the difference. Or the difference is pretty minimal.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 08:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: 12v Rails... Wah?

what exactly does 72 A on 12v rails mean? what is its purpose?
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 08:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 12v Rails... Wah?

The +12v rails would be the most important rails, as it supplies power to the components, that draw the most power. So the +12v provides to the CPU, HDD, cooling, and GPU.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 09:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: 12v Rails... Wah?

ahhh ok, thanks, that explains it heh
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 09:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 12v Rails... Wah?

I wisgh more PSU's came with a single, more powerful +12V rail
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: 12v Rails... Wah?

I thought you don't add 18. Someone said that is the peak, and you don't add them together.

Their can be a debate all day long about single rail vs multiple rails
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 11:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: 12v Rails... Wah?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I wisgh more PSU's came with a single, more powerful +12V rail
Same here... The only ones that I can think of are the PCP&C units... The silverstones only have 'virtual' rauils.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 02:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: 12v Rails... Wah?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
I thought you don't add 18. Someone said that is the peak, and you don't add them together.

Their can be a debate all day long about single rail vs multiple rails
well, thats the max theoretical output 4X18 = 72 amps

The way power supplies are rated is a bit questionable - they usually give ratings at max power which probably isnt sustainable over a long period of time.

In my opinion, it would be better to have two 12V rails operating at 36 amps then 4 at 18.
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faulty something ? jOnniesz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-19-2007 05:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.