$1250 Make - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2006, 09:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Hmm not what I'm looking for wanna consume almost all my budget so I can play all the new games coming out in the next year or so then upgrade gradually.

Anyother ideas besides the first one?
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

yeh drop the lightscribe. you could find some really cheap hd somewhere, mine was 50 bucks. if u look for good deals, you can build it hecka cheap. my rig was around 600 bucks including free os and old ram
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I got one word for yah TigerDirect. I just built my PC there, I built it myself but you can pick out all the components and have them build it for you for a lil bit extra.
Jman4183 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Newegg>god>Tigerdirect for parts
Monarch>Tigerdirect for prebuilt/custom
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 11:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Don't listen to what everyone says and never even look at tigerdirect. Tigerdirect does a lot of rebates and sometimes you might find the part you want with like a $100 rebate.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 10:52 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

yeah just stick with newegg. i'd drop the lightscribe too, i just got it because i'm gonna get more ram later prolly.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 11:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Hmm aight since I am gonna drop the light scribe should i get

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146970

or for the memory

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227224
reckliss is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 11:04 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

One thing to keep in mind, some mobo's don't like 4 sticks of dual channel ram. I didn't know that when I tried to get 4 sticks of Corsair Value Select ram to put in my DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D MOBO and it told me to go to hel. It required the ram to be downclocked or be run in 2T mode which is also a performance drop. If you ever plan on upgrading your ram I would say you are much better off to pay the extra now to get 2x1gb of some decent stuff like G.Skills or OCZ. Stay away from ValueSelect if you ever plan on OCing (which you should because you get MUCH more out of your system with very little effor and much less cost)

Also I am a fan of NewEgg. That was just my 2 cents, I think you got a good idea of parts from the other people, however I would recommend looking into an Opteron for Overclockability. My 3700+ San Sandiego is also nice for a lower cost CPU. I am going to try to hit 3ghz with it when my new ram and cooling arrive this week. More likely will get around 2.8 or 2.9 though

Edit: I recommend:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231032

PZERO has the same stuff and has gotten a good OC from it, mine should arrive tomorrow or the next day then I will see how high an OC I can get.

Edit2: Your 2 linked rams seem fine, I prefer 2 gigs if possible simply because games like BF2 and FEAR eat it up like candy. I had originally ordered some OCZ Platinum ram but it came DOA and I also found out that it didn't OC that well so I RMAed it and got the G.SKILLS instead.
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 11:33 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Hmm the memory looks good could fit that extra $15

I will probably overclock but not that much.
would it be worth getting the http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103529
instead of the http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562
or would it not make a big difference?
reckliss is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 11:41 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

Do you want to do mainly gaming or do you want it for mostly multi-tasking? 3700+ San Diego OCs well if you don't need dual core. If I were you I would also look into the Opterons like the 165 if you want dual core for multi-tasking.
__________________

__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.