1200 limit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2008, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default 1200 limit

Hey, I am gonna build a system for a friend, and as of right now, my understanding is that he doesnt need a monitor or mouse or keyboard. I was wondering what mobo you guys would suggest with this? and what would you change? no OS needed

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 520W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail
Newegg.com - EVGA 512-P3-N841-A3 GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Newegg.com - LITE-ON Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA DVD Burner with LightScribe - OEM
Newegg.com - Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

these are the two I am thinking about...
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - ABIT IP35 Pro LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

thanks!

one more thing, I have a asus P5NE-sli plus, going for 180 on newegg, think I should sell that board to him for 100? and get a new one for myself? It is a solid board, and is it better than those other two boards? he does not plan on OCing at all.(so the fact that my board sucks at OCing q6600 will not be an issue) if so, what board should I get? (e6600, 2gig crucial tracers, 8800 gts g92 512)? thanks!
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 05:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: 1200 limit

sorry to bump but advice on a mobo for my friend?

and I dont think I am gonna sell mine, I just broke my phone and dont really need to buy a new one... sadly
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 05:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: 1200 limit

I have the gigabyte p25 ds3r and reccomend that one.
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 06:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 1200 limit

go with the IP35-pro, btw sell the P5N32 SLI Plus, its terrible with overclocking quad-cores (ask Nosboost)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 08:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: 1200 limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
go with the IP35-pro, btw sell the P5N32 SLI Plus, its terrible with overclocking quad-cores (ask Nosboost)
I will sell it, but I have a dual, not a quad. So when I decide to upgrade to a quad, I think I might get a new x38
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 08:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: 1200 limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
I have the gigabyte p25 ds3r and reccomend that one.
what is the biggest difference between them? Why the huge price diff? Which one is a better OCer

EDIT: sorry to double post, was just on a conversation thread on another forum where double posting is ok.( and you can delete your own posts.. but sorry anyway)
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 12:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 1200 limit

Make sure you buy the OEM Q6600 from Clubit, as they garuntee them to be Stepping B Rivison G0. OR the retail version at Clubit..
Ste is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: 1200 limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Make sure you buy the OEM Q6600 from Clubit, as they garuntee them to be Stepping B Rivison G0. OR the retail version at Clubit..
will do :-D
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 04:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 1200 limit

I thought for the last couple of weeks Newegg were selling Guaranteed G0 SLACR, but looks like they've gone back to the old guessing games
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 06:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default Re: 1200 limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
what is the biggest difference between them? Why the huge price diff? Which one is a better OCer

EDIT: sorry to double post, was just on a conversation thread on another forum where double posting is ok.( and you can delete your own posts.. but sorry anyway)
Can anyone answer this with board experience? I would also like to know which board has better OC capabilities.
__________________

__________________
Rawmaterial is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200 masteroc New Systems | Building and Buying 18 12-21-2007 01:09 AM
Limit http download speed. ncjimn Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 09-08-2007 03:54 PM
1200 to spend need final suggestions =) Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-07-2007 10:29 AM
Need a reformat -- MS Office, will it count as re-install limit? Quintox Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-24-2007 12:21 AM
Title Limit Silverlord Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 0 05-08-2007 06:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.