$1000 Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default $1000 Upgrade

Ok, here's the story:
As of now I need to upgrade my computer from a socket 754 to probably a 939. Also upgrading from good ol' AGP. I have a $1000 budget. I was thinking along the lines of a:

AMD 4400+ ::from:: AMD 3000+
ASUS A8N SLi mobo ::from:: DFI nF3 LANparty
Nvidia 7900GT ::from:: Nvidia 6600GT
2GB RAM (don't know) ::from:: 2x512MB Corsair XMS

So, with that said. I'm not big into OC'ing, although I have, but minimally. It's main use will gaming but also basically multi-tasking. I will be re-using my old HD, sound card, power supply, DVD drives, and case. I am also looking into some type of CPU heatsink as I doubt the stock heatsink will work, perhaps a Zalman. I do intend to run SLi, hopefully, sometime in the future.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

viperman5000 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

ever considered a AM2 one?
__________________

__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

With a large Upgrade theres always the possible need for a new PSU.

So what is your current one?
Ste is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

I have, but I'm not sure how the cost factor would play out. I've even thought about Conroe, but again, cost. Also, I've heard a lot of the old AMD X2 CPUs are dropping drastically in price now that Conroe is out. And, I was hoping to get this done before I head off to school.
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

My current power supply is an Aspire 520W. I got it fairly recently, maybe like 2/3 months.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148008
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

i have really learned a lot from this forum but it seems that questions nver get answered "simply".

now i see it as a good thing cause it opnes up a lot of other doors but some people could easily be frustrated by this.


now to answer your question.... what you have picked out looks really good. and the HSF that comes with a 939 processor is known to be really good. unless you OC i dont see the reason for the Zalman.

that is the answer if you plan to stick with socket 939. personally i wouldnt as of right now though. just ask if you want opinions on that.
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

near the end of this month the prices are supposed to drop... the 24th from reading... if you can wait until then I would suggest it...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

Ok, thanks for the input with the heat sink situation. Any opinions as if I should/shouldn't go with Conroe instead, which I have heard good stuff about.

EDIT: Any opinions on what kind of RAM I should get? Hopefully keeping the cost to a minimum with still good performance. So with everything calculated as of now, I run a few dollars over with $200 RAM (just random). And that's also before all the prices start to drop.
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well the Power supply isn't the best, but you shouldn't need to upgrade unless it has trouble powering the new components..
Ste is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

read the section above this one on conroe the graph on page 3 really opened my eyes to conroe. i thought for sure i'd be 939 then AM2 came along and now its all Conroe. for 1000 you could do a pretty good build with a conroe if you can wait.
__________________

__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.