1000 FSB vs 2000 FSB?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2006, 11:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

I have an Epox for my 754 application. I'm happy with it so far.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

I dont think you really need 2000MHz FSB, like my uncles explained it to me.

Why would you need a ferrari to drive around the neighbourhood, other than showing it off.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 12:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
I dont think you really need 2000MHz FSB, like my uncles explained it to me.

Why would you need a ferrari to drive around the neighbourhood, other than showing it off.
Sorry to say your uncle is wrong. The FSB is one of the most common bottlenecks on systems, and you're hardly "driving around the neighorhood."
Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 12:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

With the AMD64s though the "FSB" (it's technically not even FSB anymore, although I realize places like newegg will list it as such) it's not so much of a big deal. It's actually the "HTL" speed.

Mines at 855MHz (or 1710 overall basically...it's 2x) and I can guarantee you, you'll see basically no difference between that and 2000.

The reason mine is at 855 is because I have my CPU's HTT OC'd up to 285 with the HT multiplier set to 3x because you want to be under the 2000, never over it. Going over it will never gain you any faster speeds or benefits, and in most cashes will cause great instability.

Quote:
I dont think you really need 2000MHz FSB, like my uncles explained it to me.

Why would you need a ferrari to drive around the neighbourhood, other than showing it off.
that is a really horrible analogy and chances are he hasn't looked into the AMD K8 architecture.

Ludachris - all socket 939 CPU's utilize 2000HTT, all socket 754 CPU's utilize 1600HTT. So regardless if some label it as 1000, or 2000, just remember, essentially 1000 = 2000 if that makes any sense.

Just remember if it's a socket 939 CPU and motherboard you have, it'll always be 2000HTT
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.