1000 FSB vs 2000 FSB?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2006, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Question 1000 FSB vs 2000 FSB??

Im looking to purchase a motherboard and im comparing the asus a8n-e and the epox ep-9npa+ultra. the asus has 2000 FSB and the epox has 1000 FSB. im going to have an AMD 3700+ SanDiego. will the epox be good enough. or does it matter with the cpu im getting?
__________________

ludachris is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default

i meant the epox has 1000FSB
__________________

ludachris is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

im not exactly sure what your asking..FSB wise? becasue they should be the same. when looking at motherboards its really just about the features, however, i would go with the asus.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

does the epox motherboard say it will work with an AMD 64?
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default

yes it does i am just wondering if the lower fsb on the epox will have any effect on the processor?
ludachris is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

AMD has a 1000Mhz HyperTransport Bus (200MHz HTT x 5 LDT Multiplier). However, AMD can send two instructions per clock cycle on it's HT Bus, similar to how DDR (Double Data Rate) RAM functions. So, the effective Bus speed on a Socket 939 AMD system is 2000MHz. Some websites will advertise it as 1000MHz, while others will call it 2000Mhz, the same as how some sites will classify DDR400 RAM as running at 200MHz, while others will classify it as 400MHz.

For future use, the correct way of saying it is the "actual" speed as opposed to the "effective" speed. However, one can be excused for making such an error.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default

so your saying that the two boards run the same speed?
ludachris is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I'm a very "angry" ASUS customer currently but I've used their boards for some time and have had many of their products.


The A8N-SLI series is flawed as almost everyones fans are on the verge of death after only 2 months after a purchase. My own fan hit the bucket around 3 months of use. Don't get me wrong ASUS is a good mobo maker but the A8N-SLI series is something you want to stay away from.


I'm also willing to guess that you will not be using two video cards in SLI mode anyway, try to consider another board from them.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

First of all, your beginning post is wrong. You said in your beginning post that both boards have a 2000MHz FSB, so fix that, first of all. Secondly, I figured that you meant that the Epox board is listed as a 1000MHz FSB board.

Yes, they both run at the same FSB. 1000Mhz or 2000Mhz, take your pick.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default

i fixed it. and yes it was listed that way, and i wasnt sure if their was a difference between the two but if their the same ill prob go with the epox.
__________________

ludachris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.