The $10,000 Computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2012, 12:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: The $10,000 Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
There is still really no advantage to them vs multiple conventional drives in RAID and there's always the whole Intel vs OCZ quality thing.
There is a serious advantage. First of all RAID is a pain in the ***, second of all you don't need to setup 2 drives to get the performance of one AND you have no additional cables cluttering your rig. If he has 15k, let him buy the best. Not setup 2 medicore to get the performance of the best.
Quality is moot for a setup like this. You go for the best, the fastest, and typically the most expensive. If a drive goes bad, OCZ will replace it.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 12:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: The $10,000 Computer

Personally, I would NEVER run a RAID 0 array. Seems totally pointless to me. You lose 1 drive, and BOOM, array is toast. It has twice (at least) the chance of failure as just a single drive. The only thing I would consider, if I had the funds, would be a RAID 5 or 6 array.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 09:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: The $10,000 Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethereal_Dragon View Post
Personally, I would NEVER run a RAID 0 array. Seems totally pointless to me. You lose 1 drive, and BOOM, array is toast. It has twice (at least) the chance of failure as just a single drive. The only thing I would consider, if I had the funds, would be a RAID 5 or 6 array.
The Revodrives are basically two drives in RAID 0 plus a RAID controller stuck in a single package so you really aren't avoiding it by going with them. When you combine that with OCZ's terrible track record for SSD quality you are basically playing Russian roulette with your data and paying a premium to do it.

Personally I would use the slightly slower Intel 510's or Samsung 830's in RAID 10 if I was in his position so you could get maximum performance while still having some sort of fault tolerance. You could do that with Intel 520's as well but they aren't quite as proven as the 510 or 830.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
There is a serious advantage. First of all RAID is a pain in the ***, second of all you don't need to setup 2 drives to get the performance of one AND you have no additional cables cluttering your rig. If he has 15k, let him buy the best. Not setup 2 medicore to get the performance of the best.
Quality is moot for a setup like this. You go for the best, the fastest, and typically the most expensive. If a drive goes bad, OCZ will replace it.
Inferior quality is even less acceptable at a higher price. Besides it's not like the Revodrives are the best out there anyways, FusionIO has some absurdly fast enterprise quality PCIE drives if you are willing to pay for that kind of product.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 10:52 AM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: The $10,000 Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by heister View Post
It can recgonize upto 128 GB of total system ram. That includes GPU ram.
Sorry, thats Not correct.

Microsoft capped it on versions, so as to get money
Memory Limits for Windows Releases

According to ms, premium is only 16Gigs
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 09:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: The $10,000 Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethereal_Dragon View Post
PERSONALLY, if you are going to be spending this much on JUST a PC, sped a little bit of money, and get your house (or whatever) wired for internet. I wired my whole home with Ethernet and Coax, each room having a wall panel with 3 Ethernet and 1 Coax jacks. Each ethernet jack is operational at gigabit speeds (except I have 1 jack dedicated for phone, which can be changed to data in about 3 seconds by connecting it to the gigabit switch.) I then have a NAS (Network Attached Storage) device in my LAN rack which connects to the gigabit switch, and has 4TB of capacity. See my sig for a link to the home wiring thread, and the details of my NAS box. The benefits of using this over a USB storage setup, is that I have media (pictures, videos, music) on the NAS which is accessable from my PS3, laptop, 2 different desktops, and my SONY TV in an 'on demand' fashion, and it doesn't require a PC to be powered on all the time to 'share' access to the device. Just saying...
I live in an apartment so I can't update it. But it was built within the last 3 years and I can see the Comcast hub from my desk if that makes a difference with speed.

Anyway, I'm getting a lot of responses so it's hard to keep track. I'm not a huge techie, just an amateur with deep pockets, so some of it's a little over my head. So yes I'm sure some of what I've said and will say is going to seem dumb but remember, that's why I'm here.

What I gather is that I can spend less on both the mobo and the CPU because it won't make much of a difference. I was looking at the new ivy bridge cpu's but I don't know how much better they'll be. Does anyone have any specific recommendations for mobo's, cpu's, and ram combos?

And I'd like to keep the three screens, which takes up a considerable portion of my budget. Can you use multiple screens like that in 3D? As for my hard drives, I'd like to have one SSD and I was thinking about doing RAID between two 1TB hard drives. Does any of this make sense? lol

For further info, I'm using the computer for gaming and music production and installing this all into a standing desk.

Thanks for the help
amerijuana is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 01:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: The $10,000 Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Sorry, thats Not correct.

Microsoft capped it on versions, so as to get money
Memory Limits for Windows Releases

According to ms, premium is only 16Gigs
On windows home premium yes, why would someone build a 10k computer and then get a bottom tier version of the OS?
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 11:49 AM   #17 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: The $10,000 Computer

^cause thats what everyone gets
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 12:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: The $10,000 Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by heister View Post
On windows home premium yes, why would someone build a 10k computer and then get a bottom tier version of the OS?
I'm going to be using Windows 8 when it comes out although I may go for linux
amerijuana is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 06:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: The $10,000 Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
^cause thats what everyone gets
I have 3 desktops, and 2 laptops in my house, ATM. All of them are running 7 Pro/Ultimate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amerijuana View Post
I'm going to be using Windows 8 when it comes out although I may go for linux
Why would you spend 10k+ on a computer, and put Linux on it? :P I mean, it's fine as a second OS, but why wouldn't you go for Windows as the main?
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 06:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 33
Default Re: The $10,000 Computer

you are going to spend over 2k on monitors?...
__________________

Lt.Shinysides is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer's new 24-inch screen boasts 8,000,000:1 contrast and only 14mm thick Fat.Clown New Technology and Products 3 10-30-2009 06:26 PM
New CMOS Camera Will Record Your Thoughts At 1,000,000 FPS Osiris Digital Photography and Imaging 1 10-14-2009 08:22 PM
Steam servers down- Huge windstorm hits Washington; over 1,000,000 without power kfc469 PC Gaming 13 12-17-2006 03:45 AM
Building A Computer <$1,000 Alazar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 28 03-19-2005 06:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.