1 Kilowatt PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2005, 03:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default 1 Kilowatt PSU

1 Kilowatt PSU

Has any one seen this power supply? They advertise it as a one KW PSU, but the amps arent that high:

+3.3v @ 30A
+5v @ 30A
+12v1 @ 16A
+12v2 @ 16A
+12v3 @ 36A
-12v @ 0.8A
+5vsb @ 4.0A

Antec True Power II 550

+3.3V @ 32.0A
+5V @ 40A
+12V1 @ 19A
+12V2 @ 19A
+5V SB @ 2.0A
-12V @ 1.0A

Personaly I would trust the Antec over this other company that no one has heard of. For 550w, the antec seems to have just as many amps on each rail. Is it really anything to be impressed about? I dont think so. What do you think?
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it has 3 +12V rails, making a total of 16+16+36=68 amps
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol I was about to point out the same thing.

Computers don't use much of the +3.3 and +5v rails so that's why they seem low.

That 1kw is basically for powerhouse SLI computers and crap...you'd never have to worry about your +12v rail being short again.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default Re: 1 Kilowatt PSU

Quote:
Originally posted by AND_YOU_ARE
Personaly I would trust the Antec over this other company that no one has heard of.
You've never heard of PCP&C? They make the best PSU's around but they're very expensive.
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 06:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

antec has a 3 +12V on their HE series. but its ony like 18+18+18 theres no 36, i was like only 3*16 for a 1 kilowatt, then i was like 36 on the last one :shocked:
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 08:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default Re: 1 Kilowatt PSU

Quote:
Originally posted by AND_YOU_ARE
Personaly I would trust the Antec over this other company that no one has heard of.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Re: Re: 1 Kilowatt PSU

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Thank you for that quality post. Try to post a reply on the topic. I know its hard.



Back to the topic at hand. For about have the watts, antec supplys just about the same power, except the 12v rail. I doubt many will find a need for all that power offered by pcp&c. Personaly I use two psu. I have a 550w antec, and a 400w antec. It provides me with enough power for everything you see in my sig.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,298
Default

W/ a 1kw PSU you wouldnt have to have 2 PSUs, so basicaly you contradicted yourself there. Also, the ANtec dosent come close to the 12v rail power that the PCP&C has. And it was really only made for the heavy OCers or somebody that has ALOT of fans and HDs (like my dads friend).
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Like posted above, PC POWER and COOLING are hailed in the PSU industary as making the best PSU's on the planet. This is mostly due to their use of only the highest quality internal components. They are also backed by a 5 year solid warranty. The problem for most people is the extremely high price. But, with one of their PSU's you get everything you pay for.

As for the new 1K watt PSU it's pretty much the same as the 850watt PSU. Only they have added more capacitors and better cooling. Both PSU's operate at over 85% efficiency. Despite the high wattage this PSU is actually much more efficent then your antec PSU's which are around 70%.

The fact is that even though the cost of this PSU is very high, around $500.00 in the end it will end up saving you money.

Example: You and I build the same exact PC. Same specs. Let's make them SLI systems with FX-57 CPU's. We are both overclockers and have a ton of HDD's and lot's of case fans, optical drives, lights... everything. We are going to run these PC's heavily over the coarse of 1 to 3 years.

The difference is that you have the ANTEC TRUEPOWER 550w SLI and I have the PCP&C Turbo-Cool 1KW PSU. Even though my PSU has almost double the wattage, that doesn't mean my PC will probably ever use it at peak. PC's only uses what wattage it absolutely needs at any given time.

My PC will be much cheaper to run. "electricity wise". And the money that i've saved on electricity pays for the cost of the PSU over the next few years. And backed by a full 5 year warranty? How can you go wrong?

Actually the turbo-cool 850 & 1K are EPS12V PSU's not ATX. They can be used in a highend desktop though. You just have to make sure that your case meets the Depth requirements. The both come with 8pin & P4 & 24pin.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703002

500 dollars

and the 1kilowatt is only 490 dollars?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.