1 Gig Or 2? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2006, 01:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

If you want to play BF2 or FEAR without any hitches go with at least 1.5gb. I use over 1gb while playing both of them. I would just get the 2gb and then run them dual channel. But **** what do i know, im new to all of this.....
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 01:51 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

Before i got 4 gig's, i had 2*512, BF2 ran fine with no laggs, now it run smooth as ****

IT really depends, i like round numbers so i would never have 1.5 or 2.5gig of ram...1 gig ran fine with me...
__________________

__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 03:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
I don't know why people have suddenly convinced themselves that they need anything more than 1GB.


That enough?

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
My point is quite simple, you ask what people need 2GB for and most will respond "BF2"...you ask them for another example and most will go silent...I ask you if there is enough justification to buy extra memory for one game.
Well then you haven't been talking to many knowledgeable people. Most high-end games out right now will require your system to have 2GB of RAM to play them at max, and keep it like that. As the above graph shows, 512MB of RAM will run the game at 60-140fps, but for one second...the next second you'll be dropping down to 20fps. Take a look at the 2GB line. It looks almost straight compared to the 512MB line. RAM basically lets the processor access data in larger amounts. The lesser the RAM, the more the processor has to access the Hard Drive. That leads to performance drops.

As if that wasn't enough, the game itself need to use RAM simply to run. BF2 takes up anywhere from 600MB to 1GB of memory depending on your settings. Thats not counting the rest of the stuff that the system has to run, the OS, the 20 other programs that Windows needs, and any Anti-Virus or Music that might be running in the background. If you have 512MB memory, and you're running all that, its simply not enough. The memory isn't a human, it can't work twice as hard. The lesser memory also leads to performance loss, usually very noticable in games.

Food for thought.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:21 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

ok wat if i got this stick
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...?EdpNo=1170139
and then in the future i want to upgradr to 2 gigs and i get the same brand card but its a different type will it work dual
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:18 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

Meh, cheap and simple id take it if i needed it.

Remember:
DFI=OCZ, G skill
ASUS=Corsair
__________________

__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.