1,200 dollar card?! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 07:28 PM   #11 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...70&cid=999.821

no idea why this one is so expensive. good for video editing but doesnt even have anything to wow about. plus its agp! in USD it would be about $1800.

even tho its a quadro, the extra technology in it couldn't be worth that much more
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

video editors could jus stick with onboard video or get a gaming video card cause i use an x300 in my old computer and i dont have any problems except for games.... are graphic programs that demading?
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 11:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Developpers using onboard cards, haha. CAD programs can take up monster graphics card power to process the images or 3d renders, so they need special cards (not sure how the mechanics work) to process the images.

To the thread starter, unless you friend uses CAD programs, hes an idiot and you can tell him your 6800gt beats him in most games.

I think it has something to do with the fact that workstation cards have to raster the image rather then use software (like opengl or d3d) to get preloaded calculations. I dont know exactly how it works but it's something along those lines.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 12:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

God **** 1gb of ddr3 on one card, **** thats alot.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 12:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

$1200 is nothing, some retail workstation graphics cards can go up to $9000! And don't let me start on the industrial stuff that you never hear about, costing $50 000 and up.
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Very simply put:

Workstation Cards are built for Precision and Accuracy. (Video Editting, Auto Cad, 3D Rendering, Graphic Design...etc...

Gaming Cards are built for Speed and Performance (Obviously Video Games)

Also like someone else said, "The drivers are completely different."
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I would like to see this so called $50,000 gpu.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 01:31 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

me 2....
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 03:25 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Ya Workstation cards are quite different... tho Nvidia does have a few that can perform as a graphics card as well as a workstation card.

Also, 3D programs may not seem demanding, but when you have a couple hundren million polygons in a scene, and your animating characters, it would murder a card...
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 03:50 AM   #20 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

open gl.. does that mean it can manhandle doom3! thats one of those open gl games.... haha, anywho... it would be nice if i could get a hand on one of those and 3dstudiomax.. and a tutor to teach me as well...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.