zalman cpu fan question - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2007, 08:16 PM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: zalman cpu fan question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
oh I didn't think that socket 940 was the same as socket AM2 cause why would they call it socket AM2 and socket 940? don't make sense.
Socket 940 and AM2 are different sockets. Yes, they have the same number of pins, but both have the pins, located differently. So a Socket 940 chip, can't fit in an AM2 socket. Socket 940 is for the server line, while the AM2 is more for the desktop line.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:28 PM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: zalman cpu fan question

ok. I got my amd athlon 64 x2 4200+ running at 2.31Ghz but can't go further. If I do then the computer restarts.
The multiplyer thing is at auto and the number goes up to 11x.
I got the cpu from 2.21 to 2.31Ghz without the temp going up at all so why can't I go further?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:30 PM   #23 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: zalman cpu fan question

You need more voltage on the vcore or CPU. Just increase it, by one notch, and see what happens.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 09:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: zalman cpu fan question

thank you guys for all you help all the time you just keep on making me smarter. Thank you.
Norcent is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 06:12 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: zalman cpu fan question

1 problem with that though. The vcore is at Auto like everything else and in everest it says the voltcore is 1.31 but in bios the vcore only goes up to 1.30.
Norcent is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 12:25 PM   #26 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: zalman cpu fan question

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Socket 940 and AM2 are different sockets. Yes, they have the same number of pins, but both have the pins, located differently. So a Socket 940 chip, can't fit in an AM2 socket. Socket 940 is for the server line, while the AM2 is more for the desktop line.
what! 940 and AM2 are different?? sorry to jack this post put which CPUS use which?
Nick is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 01:45 PM   #27 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: zalman cpu fan question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
what! 940 and AM2 are different?? sorry to jack this post put which CPUS use which?
There are Opterons that use the Socket 940, as well as older Athlon FXs, such as the FX-51.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 01:59 PM   #28 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: zalman cpu fan question

ohh i see are athlon FXs dual core?
Nick is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 02:06 PM   #29 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: zalman cpu fan question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
ohh i see are athlon FXs dual core?
I believe the FX-60 and above models, are dual core processors. The lower models, such as the FX-57 or 53, are single.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 02:10 PM   #30 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: zalman cpu fan question

are they better than athlons 64s single core?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 05:19 PM
Question using RadioButton in VB.Net punkin Programming 4 07-08-2007 11:20 PM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.