your thoughts on this processor. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2006, 05:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default your thoughts on this processor.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103633

i decided to build my own system. i want it to be a mid-high range gaming machine suitable for home office as well. i like that processor. its got a deal going with some motherboards, and i think i will pick one of them up to. motherboards are where i get confused in the equation. what is a good chipset? if that isn't a good motherboard offered in the deal, what is? i plan on putting in a 300 gb hard drive, and 2 gb ram to go along with this. please advise.
__________________

scott81425 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

That is a good processor, with lots of good power.

Don't go for a video "chipset". That won't let you do anything, except look at Firefox.

Go for a video card to get the most out of your system. A video card can be pricy, but well worth the money.

Get a motherboard that will suit the memory that you're buying. Make sure it's a good brand as well. Onboard video doesn't matter, since you should buy a video card instead.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 06:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

BTW, get the second motherboard shown.

The first one has onboard video and 4 USB ports, while the second one doesn't have onboard video, but has 6 USB ports. They're basically the same mobo as well.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 06:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default

what is a good brand of motherboard? can you recommend a socket AM2 for me? is biostar worth anything? in my current setup, i have a pcchips and i have heard nothing but bad about them. my only real requirement is i want it to support at least 4gb of system memory, preferrably in 4 slots, and have at least one pci-e x16.
scott81425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.