Your Opinion Appreciated - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 08:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50
Default Your Opinion Appreciated

I know I'm going to probably annoy some people with this thread but I've searched and searched the topics around but cannot find the exact answers I'm looking for so...

I'm building a PC that I will be using for personal gaming (not alot of LAN or internet gaming), some Auto/ArchiCAD and 3D work and mainly Music, Video, Multimedia type stuff.

Here is a list of components I'm Looking at so far:

Processor: AMD Athlon 64bit 3200+ Skt939 512KB Cache
Motherboard: MSI RS482M4-L
Memory: 2x OEM 512MB DDR 400MHz (PC3200)
HDD: Seagate 160GB 8MB SATA - Barracuda 7200.7, ST3160027AS, 7200 RPM
Videocard: XpertVision GF 6600GT 256MB 128bit DDR3, DVI, TV-Out, HDTV support, PCI Express X16 interface

What do you think of those parts? Brands and performance wise?

Most of the other components I've taken care of already.
I much appreciate any info/opinions you have. Thank you
__________________

__________________
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/8...ar298983lm.gif
AMD Athlon 64 +3200 \'Venice\'
XpertVision GF6600GT 256MB PCI-E
2x 512MB Corsair Value DDR RAM
Seagate 160GB SATA HDD
SuperFlower 500W PSU
X-Blade 511 Case
MSI K8N Neo4-F Motherboard
Nemesis1331 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 08:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

as you have not mentioned you will be gaming i would say the 6600gt is overkill. perhaps downgrade it to a vanilla 6600 (not GT) or even lower and put more money into the cpu as it seems you are going to be rendering and doing multimedia work. perhaps look at a dual core processor. if not you could put some money towards 2gb of ram which would be useful for rendering
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Definitely go for a dual core AMD, thats what makes AMD so good now, they can also multi task better than Intel because of the Dual cores. And if you gonna be gaming urself and a lil on the net. definitely stick with that card. Get more ram, or preferablly Dual Channel ram. Everything else looks prety good.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

He said that he was going to be doing personal gaming, right? So if you are going to be gaming, that card would work, but i would spend 50 more dollars and get a 6800 gs. dual core is great! I have the 3800 x2 and today i decided to open like 20 programs like photoshop and stuff like that, and it didnt lag at all. woot! - charlie
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 02:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry about missing the gaming part. i really have to stop posting late at night . i think in the interest of keeping costs down then stick to the 6600gt and try and get the extra cash for a dual core. later on add another gb of ram
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 03:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

dang! I wish you didn't live in australia. I just ordered an opty 165 and was looking to sell my 3200+ venice, but it looks like you might get convinced to go dual core? The price difference is pretty vast though. Cheapest dual cores are like $300+ USD and the 3200+ venice by now is probably $160 USD or under.

I have no idea how much it'd be to ship over there though, plus I'd be paranoid of it getting lost.

Dang it! Move to the US
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 09:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Well now... thanks alot for your info guys. I'll have to look into the dual core I think, and I'm guessing that if I cant afford it now, upgrading a little later is always possible...right?
__________________
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/8...ar298983lm.gif
AMD Athlon 64 +3200 \'Venice\'
XpertVision GF6600GT 256MB PCI-E
2x 512MB Corsair Value DDR RAM
Seagate 160GB SATA HDD
SuperFlower 500W PSU
X-Blade 511 Case
MSI K8N Neo4-F Motherboard
Nemesis1331 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 09:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to ChakeShcos Send a message via Yahoo to ChakeShcos
Default

Provided the dual core would fit in the socket on your mobo, yeah. In all honesty though, it'll be alot cheaper to just start with what you need to begin with. If you don't need the computer right away, I'd wait till you had the money to get the dual core flat out, so you don't end up with a fairly expensive processor that you can't use anymore just kinda sitting around on a shelf
ChakeShcos is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 09:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

Wait till summer for better stuff to come out, that will mave the prices go down on the lower models.

I woulf say get the 6800GS.
Don't go dual core, it's a waste of money for now. Almost any game can be run at high specs with a 3700+ and still not lag.

Your budget is about 800$?
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50
Default

For my entire system my budget is about $2kAUD max at the moment. For the parts I listed at the top and all the other parts I need... I've got a system to cost around
$1700AUD. Some parts over the net and some from the local store.

Also can anyone tell me if I were to go with 2GB ram, what's a good brand?
__________________

__________________
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/8...ar298983lm.gif
AMD Athlon 64 +3200 \'Venice\'
XpertVision GF6600GT 256MB PCI-E
2x 512MB Corsair Value DDR RAM
Seagate 160GB SATA HDD
SuperFlower 500W PSU
X-Blade 511 Case
MSI K8N Neo4-F Motherboard
Nemesis1331 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.