your guy's thoughts on this prebuilt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 10:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Default your guy's thoughts on this prebuilt

Well, I was suppose to bring home a amd athlon 64 3500=$500 today, but there were huge problems that I found out about the machine, first with the hardware, condition of product, rebate, etc..Decided that I didnt want to purchase some rip off computer at compusa. I found another computer place which were selling prebuilt amd athlon 64 3800@2.2ghz, 1 gig corsair ram, 200 gb for $464, with 50 dollars mail in rebate. Just wanting to know your guy's thoughts on this deal, going to purchase later tonight or tomorrow.
__________________

JamezKangster is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to Von Theron
Default

If the comp with the 3800 is dual core and it has good ram and the rest that you need then i guess you can go for it, or you can try and see how much you will spend on it if you build it urself and if its cheaper then just build it
__________________

__________________
Von Theron is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

try to give us a link so we can see more info on the build.. like what/if video card slots are available if someday you plan on gaming...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 02:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Well, the dual core S939 is 2.0Ghz, the single core S939 is 2.4Ghz, the dual core AM2 is 2.0Ghz, single core AM2 is 2.4 Ghz so don't know what you have unless you got the numbers mix up. no biggie. but yes, a link would be nice or at least a lot more detail about the system.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Actually, that's not bad. It should have a PCI-E slot and have an nVidia 6100 or 6150 chipset.

If you don't go with that one, check this one:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...CODE=WEM1184IS

While I don't care for TigerDirect, it is still a good price on a decent starter computer.

EDIT: It will need a better PSU if you go with a newer graphics card.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

He did not say 3800 X2 I would say he has a single core on his hands.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Pre-built = single core. Especially at these prices.

I'm running a single. Believe it or not, they still work.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Thanks you guys very much for your help. I just got a brand new computer!, Amd Athlon 64 3800, runs really silently, can hear crickets over my cpu sound =O lol thanks again
__________________

JamezKangster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.