You know the drill... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2007, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Wink You know the drill...

Well, the time has come again, for me to upgrade my computer. Which I don't want to do, cause this thing is a hunk of crap, so I'm building a new one from scratch. Now, it's nothing spectacular or anything, no expensive PSUs. I'll be going for the PSU case combo (lol?)

case/psu - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...614&cid=CS.664

mobo - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...995&cid=MB.526

hdd - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...8657&cid=HD.96

cpu - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...24&cid=CPU.907

ram - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...68&cid=RAM.475

video card - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...id=999.243.390

optical drive - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...075&cid=CR.184


Optional additions:

speakers - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...=012161&cid=SP

mouse/keyboard - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...434&cid=PE.826


So, I went with a small video card, I won't be gaming on it, just general use. And could someone tell me if that hdd will work with it or not? Thanks!
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

I know your trying to save money, but it isn't wise to go for a cheap PSU.
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yea, a cheap PSU, isn't a smart choice. It is one of the most, if not, most important component in the PC. If the PSU, blows out, theres a chance it could take down everything else with it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Oh and that HDD should work fine...
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default

Ahhh. Fair enough, I'll go the extra mile on the PSU if it's that important hehe. They're expensive though. Hmm... Lemme see here.

case - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...739&cid=CS.664

psu - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...901&cid=PS.808

Yes? No? Thanks for the input so far .
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

From memory the Thermaltake PSU's aren't the best. I could be wrong. I would go for that Antec Smart Power 2.0
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default

psu - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...309&cid=PS.808

In my price range .
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

agreed, thermaltake power supplies aren't great. the Antec PSU you linked to is alright......

edit: hey wilsko87, do you trade on OCAU?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by blackhawk13
psu - http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...309&cid=PS.808

In my price range .
Spot on. Shouldn't have any problems with that.

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
edit: hey wilsko87, do you trade on OCAU?
Err...no. Wanna explain?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

mistaken identity i guess

i could have sworn i'd seen you posting on OCAU and seeing as i spend 99% of mu time on the trading section i presumed that's where i'd seen you.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.