Yes me again. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 11:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dreaming<>demon
Lol this is stupid question, but how do i check what my PSU is and other info on it ( without opening my case up ) ??
You don't. It's very easy, just remove the side panel and it's all listed right on the side of your power supply.
__________________

Sleepyz is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i no it may seem nice and all, but plz do not cheap out on ur PSU, u may live to regret it. I guess since it has good reviews its ok, but how does it work in the long run? ppl only reviewed it when they first installed it. wat if it burns out quick?
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 12:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sleepyz
You don't. It's very easy, just remove the side panel and it's all listed right on the side of your power supply.

K cheers man - did that site help your desicions at all?
dreaming<>demon is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 12:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Man this would be sweet but hard to upgrade an old computer. for 1100 i could get a whole new athlon 3700+ with 7600GT

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=12389
Seems to be a good budget pc one.

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=17481
This is not only GS but CO.

After all the taxes and shipping were talking 350 bucks. Alot of cash for an old PC.

Would I have to update Bios which i have no clue how that works.

To Demon. Yes it made me think more of the 6800GS is way more expensive
Sleepyz is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 02:19 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ya 350 is a lot. and what sucks is that when you do upgrade your comp, you can't bring this thing over cuz its an agp. (most likely you'll be upgrading to a pci-express).

i'm skeptical tho if that powersupply will be enough for the 6800gs.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 03:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Yeah that kinda sucks. that 6800 gs AGP would be useless for next computer.

You think the 6600gt http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...87&cid=999.821

Would work on my current 250 watt compaq supply?
Never had any problems with ati 9250 256megs with 2 hd's, cd rom, dvd. The requirements for that card doesn't even mention psu requirements. Also had a nvidia 6200 256megs on it for a few days till i returned it for not being good enough.

If I could just spend 200+tax+10bucks then get back 50 for a decent mid range card that'd be great till i could buy a great machine later.

Anyway my brain can't take much more so will make final decision tonight. Just hope 6600gt 128meg can run Oblivion at decent rate.
Sleepyz is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 05:58 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Minimum System Requirements

>> Intel Pentium®III, AMD® Duron™ or Athlon™ class processor or higher
>> 128MB of RAM
>> CD or DVD-ROM drive
>> 35MB available hard disk space
(50MB for full installation)
>> A minimum 350W system power supply
>> Microsoft,® 98 or higher, ME, 2000, XP, NT4.0 with service pack 5 or 6
>> An available AGP 2.0 slot


also, i checked 6200 requirements and it said 250watt. so my best guess is that you're gonna need a new power supply no matter what.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 07:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Thanks you guys. Apreciated all the help.
I went 6600gt with 450 watt power supply.

Sleepyz is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 08:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

congrats. happy gaming.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.