XPpro/SP2 64 bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default XPpro/SP2 64 bit

I have a 64 bit AMD CPU and wanted to try out the 64 bit version of XPpro/SP2

On Microsoft I found I could download and make a CD of an ISO file (558MB)

But I have no idea how to turn this ISO file into something like a normal 32 Bit XP/SP2 CD.

I need a bit of hand holding please.
__________________

D.Arbib is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

ISO automatically extracts when used with a cd writing software
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 11:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Burn it as an Image. You may also open it with winrar.
(rarlabs.com)
turtile is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 10:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

Blind_Arrow. I have Nero 7 but haven't a clue how to make a proper installable CD from the ISO CD.


Turtile

It is burnt to CD as an ISO file
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

In Nero, go to the top bar, click recorder, then click on burn image

Select the ISO file and it will make the disc
turtile is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 11:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

Yes I did this but got XPpro/SP1 only not SP2 version which I cannot find on Microsofts site. This was not made clear on their download page.
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 01:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

u install SP after installation, as I have a MS Home with SP1, I had to install SP2 later on. though my Xp_pro came with SP2 aleady in.

you'll be needing a key for that, though there is another process to embed Service Pakcs in installation CD's. callled "Slip Streaming", but it s pretty complicated, or I would have told you in detail.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 01:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

But is there a 64 bit SP2? And is possible either to remove SP1 from the 64 bit version or install over it?
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

I am sure that all SP2 works same on every type of XP O/S. weather 32-bit or 64-bit.

you cannot uninstall the Embedded SP's, new SP's cover the old ones anyway. but like in case you came with no SP installed, then you coulod have gone straight for SP2 installation, rather than going for SP1 then SP2.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

The download is actually 2003 version XPpro/SP! and I do remember the problems I had with installing SP2 on top.
I had to use a bare XPpro then install SP2, though now I have a 32 bit Xppro/SP2 CD.

As I have and AMD 4400+ 64 bit CPU I thought of having an attempt. Or, in your opinion, should I go straight for Vista RC1 if there is a 64 bit bersion????
__________________

D.Arbib is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.