XP or Vista Basic? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2007, 02:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: XP or Vista Basic?

she may want office 2003 and it is a good system could be very good if they didn't lock the bios
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 373
Default Re: XP or Vista Basic?

Thanks....well I think I'll just download OpenOffice for her. That Wordprocessor will work just fine for her.

Can you explain what "lock the bios" means? I'm still a newbie. Thanks.

If you mean configure so that you can't add new specs, I highly doubt that....right?
__________________

bagelred is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: XP or Vista Basic?

i ran my vista premium on 512mb just to see how fast it was and it is VERY slow

i think he means they lock the bios so you cant overclock etc

the bios is what you use to change your systems settings like the time and date but you can do that on the control panel
Nick is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 373
Default Re: XP or Vista Basic?

My aunt is not tech savvy at all. I'm keeping it real simple. No overclocking or anything remotely complicated. Just a basic system that will work reasonably fast. For less than $400, it's hard to wrong on this one, I think.....
bagelred is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 03:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: XP or Vista Basic?

well overclocking doesn't make the system unstable now a days it just increases performance as every chip is different and can reach different speeds they just factory set them all the same to make it a standard ghz rather then having lots of small categories
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 07:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: XP or Vista Basic?

So, go for Windows XP only.[/QUOTE]

X2. That dell system will be more than enough for your aunt. Definitely no overclocking or 2gb of ram needed for her needs. Vista is just pretty. XP will be around for a while.
As far as building one....well, I wouldn't waste my time building it unless you were going to get some $$ to do it.
Good luck
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 07:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: XP or Vista Basic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nu2duo View Post
So, go for Windows XP only.
X2. That dell system will be more than enough for your aunt. Definitely no overclocking or 2gb of ram needed for her needs. Vista is just pretty. XP will be around for a while.
As far as building one....well, I wouldn't waste my time building it unless I were going to get some $$ to do it.
Good luck[/QUOTE]
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 09:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: XP or Vista Basic?

Xp ofc, cause Vista basic is neither compartble nor has aero, media center, sync center and bitlocker.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 10:37 AM   #19 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: XP or Vista Basic?

vista basic is like xp but looks different
Nick is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 10:51 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: west babylon
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to team 1203 4 life
Default Re: XP or Vista Basic?

go with xp its a better syestem and it has all the bugs worked out of it while on the other hand vista is still having problems
__________________

team 1203 4 life is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista speech recognition mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-27-2007 09:57 AM
Mobility Modder for Vista Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-22-2007 09:25 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 08:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.