XP Home or Pro? Need monitor suggestions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2006, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default XP Home or Pro? Need monitor suggestions

Hi, I just finished purchasing all the parts for my computer now I just need the OS and a monitor. Now I know this is supposed to be in the other part of the forum but I also need a suggestion on a new monitor.

I was wondering if there is a significant difference between XP Home and Pro? I've had Home on this computer and so far have had no problems to it but if Pro can make a significant difference, I'd be willing to dish out the extra $60+ to get it.

I also need a new monitor as I'm giving away this 17" CRT to my dad. I game alot and I need a good monitor for gaming and have always heard CRTs are better then LCDs for gaming up until the other day where I kept getting suggestions for an LCD. I was planning on getting this CRT at about $220 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824116282

So if anyone thinks LCDs are better for me, feel free to suggest any certain brands. I'm looking for a 19" monitor with a good response time for gaming, has a good history of not having dead pixels, and a nice big resolution that would extremely benefit from my 7800GT video card.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

I got a reply for the monitors on the other thread, so I just need a suggestion on whether to buy XP Home or Pro and I'm off to buy them.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

i say pro i love some of the extra features that home does not have i ristricted my little bros account from accessing any of my hard drives a access denied message just pops up that keeps him out of my music, porn and system back ups lol
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

That seems like a nice feature but no one uses my computer ever so it would be pretty useless for me. Are there any other features you can think of that Pro has that Home doesn't?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

umm... let me check microsofts website but there is a basic back up program in pro
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase...p_home_pro.asp

a quick google search pulled this up
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 11:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Just purchased Windows XP Pro SP1 at a bargain for $100 on ebay. Thanks for the help!
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 12:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Ebay...... I would never buy software on Ebay that requires a CD-Key.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.