X2 VS X4 How much better. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2008, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default X2 VS X4 How much better.

I have AMD 5000+ x2 2.6ghz CPU at the moment. im thinking of either waiting for the 3.0 Phenom 2 which is 3.0ghz or just get the 2.6 quad thats out now.. but how much better is x4 then x2... will you be able to tell that much of a difference between the x2 5000+ and the 9950 x4?
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: X2 VS X4 How much better.

What are you going to use it for? Do you know how to overclock?
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 11:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: X2 VS X4 How much better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
What are you going to use it for? Do you know how to overclock?
Gonna be a gaming rig... and yeah but the mobo i have now i so unstable so i havn't been able to overclock my 5000+ that much
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: X2 VS X4 How much better.

You would be better going intel then if your replacing both the cpu and mobo. I think the quad is warranted providing you get a good overclocking board and heatsink and on a game with multithreading (which next gen games are introducing) so all cores are used. If not then the x2 will also be very good and be able to reach a higher clock per core so be faster in current generation games. It just comes down to price really.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 26
Default

Yeah I agree. I think the x2 is better for gaming because there are many games that weren't coded to take advantage of the multicore processors. I actually see that problem with my x2 and some older games. I noticed that often times, only one core is being utilized, so my 3.0 ghz processor is actually only running at 1.5ghz. Me, I'll wait awhile before I go with a quad core. Give other technology awhile to catch up with it. You'll see the same with a 64bit OS. Not all programs take advantage of it and many won't even run. :-/

Oh, and Sizco, I noticed you have a Biostar mobo? I wanted to ask you, is it pretty stable? Any problems with it?
DesoShade is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 06:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: X2 VS X4 How much better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesoShade View Post
Oh, and Sizco, I noticed you have a Biostar mobo? I wanted to ask you, is it pretty stable? Any problems with it?
They are pretty stable, i just had problems OC my 5000+ to 3.2ghz and it actually being stable.. but other then that its a pretty stable Mobo.
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 07:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: X2 VS X4 How much better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiZcO View Post
They are pretty stable, i just had problems OC my 5000+ to 3.2ghz and it actually being stable.. but other then that its a pretty stable Mobo.
Funny I had that same board a while ago and it was able to over clock my 4800+ to 3.00ghz 24/7 with stock cooling.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 09:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: X2 VS X4 How much better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Funny I had that same board a while ago and it was able to over clock my 4800+ to 3.00ghz 24/7 with stock cooling.
hmmm, what was your overclocking settings? i might have been overclocking it wrong
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 09:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: X2 VS X4 How much better.

Ram I didn't bother to mess with even though my transcend ram is not that great. Since I had a 12.5x mulitplier I had to get a bus speed of 241 to hit 3.01ghz.

Since you have a 13x multiplier you'll only need a bus speed of 230~235 to get 3.00ghz. Give it a try and see if it works.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 12:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: X2 VS X4 How much better.

if you are thinking of going AMD quad, wait just a little bit for deneb. i'm sure you would want a new mobo too.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.