x2 5200 retail/oem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2007, 10:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default x2 5200 retail/oem

Is there a reason why the retail x2 5200's are cheaper than the oem 5200's besides the stepping,voltage and thermal power? I'm doing a complete switch to AM2 and am just grabbing a decent cpu for the time being till Phenom comes out.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 10:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: x2 5200 retail/oem

links?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 11:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: x2 5200 retail/oem

I'd just grab a 6000+ so you'll have guaranteed 3GHZ stock. They don't cost that much.
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 01:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: x2 5200 retail/oem

ur FX-55 is pretty good though.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 01:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: x2 5200 retail/oem

I love my Fx but upgrading is out of the question. I'm looking down the road at AM2. I'm selling my Fx and I'm grabbing an Opty 165 and my bro is buying the comp. Does that seem like a smart decision? He does'nt really care about whats the latest and greatest, but I do want to keep him in the game for quite awhile longer with a dual-core.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overhe clocking a AMD X2 5200 cdcmoon Overclocking and Modding 4 07-12-2007 12:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.