wrong ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2006, 05:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default wrong ram?

Hey everybody,

I just bought some new ram to speed things along on my Toshiba Satellite 1800. I thought I bought the right stuff, but I may be wrong. I put it in and all the pins lined up and all that, but when I turned it on, it just went "beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep" and no further. I was wondering if I bought a piece of garbage or I bought the wrong type of ram.

It was labelled: Laptop 256MB SDRAM PC100-222-620

On the ram itself, is "PC 100-222-620 256MB, SYNCH, 100MHz, CL2" What exactly is "PC 100-22-620"? Could it be that this is not the same or compatible with PC100? Also, I'm not clear on "SYNCH" or "CL2".

Any info would be much appreciated,

Jim - long time reader, first time asker

kimoanton is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
FlashDude's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude

There are about 10 diferent models of 1800's I am not sure which one your's is but almost all of them take ram like this. If it doesn't say sdram pc 100 sodimm then it isn't the right ram. You need something like this. 512mb sdram pc100 sodimm

FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 10:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3

Thanks for your reply FlashDude. The model number on my Satellite 1800 is PS181Z-00WZX. So, you think the RAM that I have should fit? Where would the "SODIMM" bit be written? There's no mention of it anywhere. Is that a good sign that it is not SODIMM?
By the way, any clue as to the "PC 100-222-620" bit? Or the "SYNCH" and "CL2"
Thanks again,
kimoanton is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

well if it fit in then it must be a SO-DIMM, judging by your description it is the correct type. did you remove the battery and power cord when you installed it? i think it is possible to install SO-DIMM's backwards so you may want to check that. i also know of more than one instance where someone thought it was all the way in the slot and it wasn't. so basically go back and make certain that it is installed correctly.
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3

thanks nitestick. I tried it again. The battery and power cord were disconnected and I'm sure it was in correctly (there is only one way it could possibly fit) and I'm sure it was in all the way. I guess it is just a bunk piece, eh?
kimoanton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.