Would there be... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2007, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Would there be...

heyas,

im thinking about getting a new motherboard so that i can start using core 2 duo processors. now ive found a board that is within my current price range, and i was wondering if some of the guys here could help. im wondering if there would be anything id have to change about parts and such from my current board to the new one:

new one:
Newegg.com - XFX MB-N650-IUL9 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i Ultra ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Old/current:
Newegg.com - Foxconn 915A01-P-8EKRS2 LGA 775 Intel 915P ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

current parts:
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 3.0ghz
RAM: dont know exact names, but they are 240-pin so they should work, correct?
Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce 8600 GTS 256mb
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster
PSU:SeaSonic S12-430 ATX12V 430W Power Supply which has no trouble so far in powering everything


thanks for any help given


regards.
__________________

RogueSeven is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Would there be...

Yes, everything should just swap right over to that new board. The Core 2's also use the Socket 775, so they will FIT on your old motherboad, but I don't think that all of the chipsets are capable of supporting the Core 2's.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Would there be...

I would suggest this board instead:

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

It's future ready for the 45nm processors. It should support your P4. What model P4 is it?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Would there be...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I would suggest this board instead:

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

It's future ready for the 45nm processors. It should support your P4. What model P4 is it?


not sure the model but it is has the HT stuff also
RogueSeven is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Would there be...

download CPU-z
open it>motherboard
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Would there be...

intel pentium 4 530
RogueSeven is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 07:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Would there be...

Yep....your CPU is supported, by the DS3L.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 07:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Would there be...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Yep....your CPU is supported, by the DS3L.
awesome, ill prolly pick that one up since it is a few bucks cheaper and looks basically the same

thank mate


also, is there much difference from a 8600 and a 8800 gts? if i have the money should i pick it up? if i dont should i start saving up because it is a good difference?

thanks
RogueSeven is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 07:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Would there be...

BIG difference.. the 8600gts gets blown away by the 8800gts 320mb.. definitely worht the extra cash...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Would there be...

ok, just to add onto this, as stated before, this is my current board:

Newegg.com - Foxconn 915A01-P-8EKRS2 LGA 775 Intel 915P ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail


now, i am curious, the board specs dont say anything about core 2 duo support, but it is a lga 775 socket, on top of that it has the 800/533 mhz fsb, and a few of the core 2 duo processors are 800 mhz fsb, can those core 2 duos work on this motherboard? has anyone heard anything about it?

regards.
__________________

RogueSeven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.