would this set-up be any good for gaming ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2006, 08:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i don't really get the really expensive ram... do you plan on overclocking? i can see that ram being useful for that... but not much more. you can save like $100 just on the ram..

and as for your wireless desktop.. don't get that one, hehe. get one with at least a laser mouse with rechargable lithium ion battery. i think the mx3000 and mx5000 fit the description...

oh and don't finance. if you can't afford it all now.. buy just one 7900gtx.. then add the other one later when you do have money..

the 550watt antec is a good psu, but i'm not sure about it powering two 7900gtx's... you should check first
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 10:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

link me to some cheaper but still good RAM

thanks
__________________

__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 10:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

are you planning on overclocking a lot?
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 09:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

nope. i dont think i'll overclock at all. just want the best (least expensive) that will compliment the rest of the parts.

thanks
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

Well if you put the best stuff in a computer of course you ccan call it great. So well duh
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:43 AM   #16 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

ya get cheaper ram, check www.tigerdirect.com for prices they are the best place next to newegg to shop, if one dosent have it the other will.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:04 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210

there was some good gskill but they took the rebate off..

so that ocz are best. very tight timings. good price. no guarantees on overclocking....
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:14 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

that looks like what i need. thanks aliasaid.

now i'm not ready to buy yet but anybody predict when the 7900 card will be readily available ?
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:19 AM   #19 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

well dealers have them but thats for pre-built pcs, the chances of you getting one any time soon is slime. go for a Radeon X1900XT its faster and cost less, also it works on your mobo too
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:52 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

costs less? no i don't think so..

but it is faster... and i personally like the x1900xt a lot.

only problem is that the guy has an SLI motherboard... and if he plans to upgrade hsi video in the future he can't just stick another x1900xt.. which he woulda been abel to do if he had the 7900gt.. but most likely if you do upgrade you'd just replace the whole card... hehe.. i'm rambling again, uh oh! i'd just go for the x1900xt..
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.