Would my computer bottleneck? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2008, 01:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Default Would my computer bottleneck?

Well, I have recently bought a couple of upgrades for my computer and I wanna make sure that it doesnt bottleneck so here are the parts:

Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129021

OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W ATX12V Power Supply 100 - 240 V - Retail

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341002

ASUS P5Q LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131295

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Retail

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115017

Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1200 (PC2 9600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220241

BFG Tech BFGE981024GX2E GeForce 9800 GX2 1GB (512MB per GPU) 512-bit (256-bit per GPU) GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143128

So yea will it bottleneck, any comments about the build I chose, will it bottleneck if i plan to overclock and where is some guides to overclock cpu info about voltages etc.

Thank you very much.
__________________

phuse is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Would my computer bottleneck?

How will it bottleneck? They are all new high end parts.

Your fine
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Would my computer bottleneck?

Lol thanks had to make sure but do you know if the DDR2-1200 RAM is compatible with my setup?

Thanks
phuse is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 02:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Would my computer bottleneck?

Yep, that ram is standard on your motherboard. You are good to go.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 02:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Would my computer bottleneck?

thank you
phuse is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 02:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Kjlen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Default Re: Would my computer bottleneck?

If you plan on gaming in Vista, it wouldn't hurt to pick up another couple gigabytes of RAM, but 2GB should be fine unless you game at very high resolutions in Crysis or some other like game.
Kjlen is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 02:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Would my computer bottleneck?

Yea I am gonna get 4GB because the 2GB i got were defective.... Will downgrading from DDR2 1200 to DDR2 800 be a big difference? Also tell me what you think about putting this into my system : OCZ 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Thank you.
phuse is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 03:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Would my computer bottleneck?

Yeh OCZ are a good company, i use them

ddr2 800 is fine memory and you wont notice the difference between that and 1200, it will be so minor. Ddr2 1200 would only really see performance increases in maybe folding/benchmarking and any long repetitive task where a few seconds would count.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 10:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Would my computer bottleneck?

Okay great your a big help! thanks
__________________

phuse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Help with a gaming computer Consequences New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-22-2008 03:04 AM
My First Computer Build... Please Check My Selection and answer questions brandonlowe2 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-16-2008 04:11 PM
Need Video Card, Case, Mouse and Keyboard Suggestions r3vo1ution1991 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-06-2008 08:47 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.