Would this be a good gaming rig? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2008, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Would this be a good gaming rig?

I dont need anything SUPER POWERFUL but this has an ATI radeon 3650, seems good enough right?

Computers: Desktop Computers: Dell 530 Desktop Computer featuring Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q8200 (530) | Best Buy Canada Web Store
__________________

TekBubs is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Would this be a good gaming rig?

Don't get a dell they have locked bioses we can help you build a pc for that budget which will wipe the floor with that dell and only take 30 mins for you to build. If building a pc scares you don't be its really simple and near impossible to screw it up
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 11:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Would this be a good gaming rig?

If you absolutely don't want to build and you have your heart set on that dell, then yeah it will play games. It won't play newer games on high settings, but it will get the job done if you don't care about that kind of stuff.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Would this be a good gaming rig?

even if you don't want to build yourself it might be a better idea to use one of those custom pc building sites at least you can some choice.

Cyberpowerpc had good reviews on some english gaming magazine and think they have a US site too.
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Would this be a good gaming rig?

Joey you just built your first rig, didn't you find it easy.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Would this be a good gaming rig?

yeah i thought it was ok, it was kinda like lego lol for the most part, cables fit in holes, stuff goes in slots etc.. just try putting things in things until they click..but don't push too hard. Although i thought putting on the Vendetta heat sink thing required a bit more force then other stuff which was none.

lol the most confusing thing for me was probably figuring out the stand off things for my motherboard so it isn't touching the case but manuals and stuff help and you figure it out lol.

I guess the only thing i did which i didn't ask about so no idea if it will explode one day is because i couldn't stop the cables hanging around in the way especially the cables from the power supply to the graphics card.. i used those zip ties on them...

Like i folded the cable then put a ziptie around it connecting it to the cage were the harddrive/dvd drive goes. Also ziptied most other cables together to make one thick cable rather then little stringy different ones everywhere. If it catches on fire i'll tell you.

Although i don't think i would ave done it unless i knew someone nearby was pretty techy(luckily they were) in case i messed up. In fact i was scared at first because i plugged in monitor but it just said no single, the fans were on in the PC but it didn't look totally booted up, i nudged the back of the case with my foot by accident will thinking and it started up, lmao. So i just pushed in some cables more.
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Would this be a good gaming rig?

Using zip ties is just good cable management I attempted with my case but gave up its just way too much effort when you have sli, two opticals with ide and 5 hdds with sata just took forever and I had only just finished doing it the week before on my old case!!!! Do it when I next have a day where I feel like building something last time I felt like that I built a catapult with bungee wire worked great until I lost all my fruit over to nextdoors house.

Probably just the dvi/d-sub cable being a bit loose thats why there are screw in bits on them too keep them secure and tight
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete Gaming Rig - $450 Brtnboarder495 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 16 02-03-2009 12:43 AM
** Selling my other gaming rig, cheap ** Jtumble2 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 7 12-07-2008 01:52 PM
New Dell Gaming PC any good? rjm0827 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 02-28-2008 09:58 PM
Gaming rig £650 LittleWing New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-30-2007 01:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.