is it worth upgrading my ram? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2012, 07:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: is it worth upgrading my ram?

Ah, I thought it had four. Never mind
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 08:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: is it worth upgrading my ram?

yeah thanks tho. i will do sli at some point
__________________

Drogos is offline  
Old 05-21-2012, 03:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to ImTorey
Default Re: is it worth upgrading my ram?

Most cards come with the plugs that go from the card into the molex nowadays. DDR3 is dirt cheap but not worth it in your case. I'd buy a new game or two
ImTorey is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 05:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: is it worth upgrading my ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImTorey View Post
Most cards come with the plugs that go from the card into the molex nowadays. DDR3 is dirt cheap but not worth it in your case. I'd buy a new game or two
Every GPU I've ever had has come with a big message on card roughly saying 'DO NOT USE MOLEX TO PCI ADAPTORS!'.
Never explains why, though; I'm guessing it can't provide enough current compared to PCI.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 12:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: is it worth upgrading my ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
Every GPU I've ever had has come with a big message on card roughly saying 'DO NOT USE MOLEX TO PCI ADAPTORS!'.
Never explains why, though; I'm guessing it can't provide enough current compared to PCI.
It's literally the same thing. If it came with that message then why would video cards ship with those molex adapters?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 02:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: is it worth upgrading my ram?

I've never had a GPU that comes with the adaptor, either.

Isn't Molex 4-pin? If so then they're not simply the same thing, since PCI-E is 6-pin. I'm guessing there's an issue there that Molex can't draw enough current to equivalently match the maximum draw of the PCI-E connector, but that would still be fine for lower-end GPUs.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 03:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: is it worth upgrading my ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
I've never had a GPU that comes with the adaptor, either.

Isn't Molex 4-pin? If so then they're not simply the same thing, since PCI-E is 6-pin. I'm guessing there's an issue there that Molex can't draw enough current to equivalently match the maximum draw of the PCI-E connector, but that would still be fine for lower-end GPUs.
My 580 came with 2 adapters (6 and 8), my 465 came with 1, my 280s came with 2 a piece, ect. The adapters are 1 6 or 8 pin to dual 4pin molex. It is drawing current from 2 different connectors for a single connector. On a single or dual rail PSU it would be the same as the 12v source is the same.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 12:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: is it worth upgrading my ram?

im planing on doing sli by Christmas. im going to start saving up more so im not broke wen i do lol. ill most likely put on my amazon tab. im going to do it with better cards tho well see whats on sale then got to be ready for crysis 3. i heard they going to bring it.
Drogos is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 07:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 71
Default Re: is it worth upgrading my ram?

You can upgrade if you run large applications on your computer and another apart from the ram you need to have good hard disk too
brettbaynaard is offline  
Old 05-25-2012, 03:05 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: is it worth upgrading my ram?

i mostly do gaming. i have a SSD as main for windows and programs. i install all my games on my secondary 1TB drive. i do have a first gen 17 quad 3.7, with 12GB ddr3 ram not the fastest ram but my SSD makes up for that. GTX 560 2GB ddr5, corsair 650 watt psu. over all my pc runs anything i tried to. i think i can max out batterfield 3 haven't tried to but it automatically sets it to almost ultra only a few options aren't on ultra. im going to see about getting a new psu and sli 2 nice cards by the end of the year let the prices drop with the new gtx680 hitting the market we should see card drop a bit. ohh i recently got a carbide 500R white pc case love it i recommend it. the cable management is so easy on this case u cant be bad at it.
__________________

Drogos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
worth upgrading or not? Drogos New Systems | Building and Buying 16 10-23-2011 12:58 PM
Worth upgrading to the i7? csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-05-2008 09:09 PM
worth upgrading? buddha System Upgrades 9 01-19-2007 08:21 PM
Is it worth upgrading this PC? ki9090 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-01-2006 04:38 AM
Is it worth upgrading? Danny_M Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 07-19-2004 02:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.