Worth upgrading? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2006, 09:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default Worth upgrading?

Hey, I just really got into computer hardware, so I don't really know that much, but I think I know enough to get me by. I currently have a slightly upgraded HP machine, here are the specs:

2.4ghz Celeron (I know, it's crap)
512 ram (not sure what type, can anyone tell me how you tell?)
Ati 9600pro 256mb

The mobo is some stock HP one, and not too sure on the PSU but I doubt that it matters in this system since it's not really demanding that much.

What I really want to know is if it's worth upgrading, say, the mobo and cpu, then later the gpu. Or if it would be better to buy a whole new rig.

Thanks.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

IMO, I would just sell it, and save up for a new computer if thats an option.

But if it is not an option, I would get a another stick of 512mb and a 6600GT assuming your PSU will support it.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

You could upgrade the mobo.But if you wanna upgrade the CPU you might as well build a budget computer for like $500.You could use the HDD you have now and the drives and the ram but you should just get a gig of some budget ram unless you wanna overclock.The advantage of building a new rig would you would ecscape INTEL and move on up to AMD.A 3200+ 939socket would be plenty.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Selling could be an option. If it would be possible, I'd like to salvage what I could from this comp though. I could use the hard drives, and the ram I think.

The main thing I want is to be able to get a decent framrate from games, mostly CS:S, ATM I get about 20fps on all low settings, I'd be satisfied with a machine that cold run it at medium settings with 40-60 fps. Could someone suggest a setup that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg, and that could do what I need?
cyrax is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

a stick of 512mb and a 6600GT would fix that........ Total upgrade cost, $190
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

It would be nearly triple that amount, since I live in New Zealand and the prices for computers here are crazy. Wouldn't a 6600gt be going a step down since it's 128mb, and the card I have now is 256mb?
cyrax is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well video memory isnt everything..... It really depends on the clockspeed of the core and memory, the architecture and the amount of pipelines. I am 100% positive that any 6600GT will cream your 256mb 9600pro
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Ok then, thanks for the info, can you suggest a good mobo to go with it that will do the job? And how do you check your PSU's wattage?
cyrax is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 10:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

bump
cyrax is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Ok, so now I'm thinking this -

Getting a 6600gt, since it has been recommended to me.
Getting a new mobo, maybe one that is SLi compatible so I can maybe get a seond 6600gt to increase my framerates.
Get 512mb/1gb ram to increase my ram to 1gb/1.5gb

Now I need to know what a good brand is to get for a 6600gt. XFX looks good, except the only one I can find at the site that I get stuff at is AGP. Can someone go here and recommend one to me? http://www.ascent.co.nz

I also need someone to direct me in terms of ram and a mobo. I'm still at school, so I can't get any premium products, but I just need something that will do the job, that can overclock a little to give that little bit of omph, and something that won't cost me an arm and a leg.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.