worth the upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2005, 12:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default worth the upgrade?

I was just wondering whether it would help me any whatsoever to upgrade my graphics card with the setup I have now. Right now I have a 2GHz CPU 512MB of ram and upgraded graphics card from the 32mb card it came with to an FX5500. I really just want to know whether it would really be worth the upgrade and if the setup would be able to keep up with any better card than the current 5500. I would really love to be able to play HL2 deathmatch and CS:Source with better frames. Any help is appreciated.
__________________

Richimself is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

If you have an AGP slot, pick up a 6600GT or 6800NU...and you will get much, much better framerates in the games you play. 2GHz isn't too bad, although no hardcore gamer would want it, it sounds okay for you. I would also think about upgrading your memory from 512MB to 1GB.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Ah thanks for the input. I was also wondering if my slot being agp 4x if that will effect performance. And i forgot to mention my motherboard right now holds 168-pin SDRAM (pc133) and was also wondering about the RAM, so would upgrading to 1GB of pc233 (i think that's the highest my mobo will take) also yield better gameplay? thanks again for the help.
Richimself is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Ooooh...you are still using PC133? That PC is older than I thought. I wouldn't worry about upgrading that then, I would just save and build a new system. Sorry, mate....PC133 is not good for gaming these days, especially games as RAM intensive as HL2 and BF2.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Ah, I was afraid of that. I'm a little new to hardware so it couldn't be that it's 168-pin memory but can take 184-pin or anything like that? And yeah I think it is a little old, my sisters boyfriend built it for free, i'm pretty sure it's just an old HP vectra office pc :/
Richimself is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

No, 168-pin is not comaptable with 184-pin...they are completely different types of memory. 184pin is DDR, which is dual-data rate and supports twice the speed.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Alright, hrm.. maybe i'll look into a full upgrade in the near future, it's just so much I was hoping just a graphics card might be able to help. Oh well, thanks for all your help beedubaya
Richimself is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 06:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i would wait and build a completely new system some time next year, thats what i am doing.

Next year heaps of cool stuff is being introduced, it will be a great year for computers!

Windows Vista will be released - a new operating system that fully supports 64 bit and multi threads. Also it puts all the work of rendering the desktop to the gpu instead of the cpu so your brand new gpu will be used in things other than 3d games.

Dual core will become even more affordable next year. It is still quite new and expensive, next year it will be more adopted and prices will drop. Also other programs and games will be released with multi thread and 64 bit capability so things will be even faster.

Also, AMD (which is a big favourite in this forum) will be releasing socket M2 which has DDR2 support which lets you have higher bandwidth, and by then the latency problem should be fixed up.

Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.