Is it worth it? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2015, 01:07 PM   #21 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Is it worth it?

Oh my Jesus.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 01:15 PM   #22 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: Is it worth it?

So, essentially, what you're saying, Carnage, is that Intel packs more processes into each clock cycle, reducing the need for multiple cores and faster clocks, whereas AMD has fewer operations per cycle, so they amp up the clock speed and add more cores in order to compensate?
__________________

__________________
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is knowing not to put one in a fruit salad.

Professional slacker and an expert procrastinator (16 years experience) with a Ph.D in sarcasm.
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 01:18 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Is it worth it?

Yes, in my thread, that is essentially what is going on. Games prefer single threaded performance (cycles per clock) over cores. AMD's module consists of two gimped cores reducing single threaded performance which they compensate for by raising clock speeds and TDP. In this case like I had said in the article, you can think of a module as one core rather than two due to load being split. It's a physical version of Intel's HT but an impractical one causing them performance hindering in single thread apps like games.

It sounds worse than it is, but if you're upgrading your setup there's no real point in going with AMD if you have the funds for an i5.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 01:35 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: Is it worth it?

i have tested this. i had a i7 950 x4 cores and pitted agains a amd 1100t x6 cores.at stock speeds. the i7 950 destroyed the 1100t.
on the bench scores. the i7 scored over 3k more.
__________________

__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is XBOX worth it? FrankF Microsoft XBox 23 10-03-2004 07:23 AM
My system, is doom 3 worth it? rad9700pro PC Gaming 8 09-12-2003 08:04 AM
how much is my pc worth?? freestyle Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 07-21-2003 02:27 PM
Is this worth building? Disaster Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 06-17-2003 09:22 PM
Worth The Money? defuzion Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 04-05-2003 03:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.