IT WORKS! Should I attempt to install? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 09:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 37
Default IT WORKS! Should I attempt to install?

I got my first ever product that i bought on the internet!!! a geforce 6600 GT wow... its beautiful... anyways should i install it or should i get futureshop to do it? how hard is it? can i damage it easily? any ideas guys?
__________________

sk8boarder1414 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

To install a video card is a very simple task. First you would want to uninstall the drivers of your previous card. Then shut down your computer, open the case. Locate your old video card, if its AGP you should pull down the tab and lift the card out, then just install the new one, and make sure you plug in the power connector. If its pcie16 just pull it out, install the new one, and plug in the power connector. Turn on the computer, and install the new drivers. Then play some BF2
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 08:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 112
Default

that guys got, right,
do it yourself, i was in your shoes a couple of months ago, it scared the **** out of this rook.,,,,, but through the expert advice of other members i did it w/ no probs at all
putting the card in was alittle harder than i thought it would be, it didnt just "slide in", and also made some funny metal on metal noises

but it is that simple
BRreed is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

make sure it doesnt go into your nose, thats all you have to worry about.
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Make sure you don't accidentally hit anything while installing the card into the case (physically), thats about all that I can think could go wrong. Of course you gotta first find out if that card is compatiable with your motherboard at all.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.