Woops, maybe? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2006, 05:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Default Woops, maybe?

I just ordered my new system I will build form New Egg and well I spent who knows how long researching lol. The mobo says it supports sats3.0g but I ordered a sata 150 drive and wasnt paying attention. Are sata 3.0 connections backwards compatible with sata 150 drive or am I going to have to use an ATA until I get another drive?
__________________

hednik is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It is sata 3gb/s, and it is compatible with 1.5gb/s transfer rates. Just like USB.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Default

Ah thanks! You learn something new everyday Everyone in this foums has been awesome in answering my questions. Last one i pormise, for now. Any suggestions for a fairly noob - proof write on putting my system together. I knwo what im doing for the most part just a backup if i have a brain fart and need something to print out before im putting it together?
hednik is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I don't have any good guides, but I do have personal experience.

I built my first one with a cool mind. (Had to leave it for the first night as I couldn't get the motherboard in. ) So have a cup of tea/coffee first.

Be very light with the CPU, match the arrow on the mobo socket with the arrow on the CPU, and let it drop in slowly.

Work out how to put the heatsink on before putting the mobo in the case and putting the thermal compound on.

Only use a rice sized grain of thermal compound.

Ram needs to be pushed in quite hard. (Check it is the right way round.)

Cheap cases cut - badly. You will not realise you are cut until you see blood, so keep looking out for it.

Dis charge static by touching a unpainted bit of a computer that is plugged into the mains. You don't really need to worry about static unless you are running around on carpet.

Take your time.

Don't expect it to boot first time as you will likley have missed something. (last time it was the power switch for me )
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Make sure the last thing you connect is your PSU (into the wall at least). There are a lot of cords from the PSU that can be easy to forget. I had a 4-pin connector that went to my mobo in addition to the 24-pin one. I almost forgot about it. Same with the video card. If it's PCI-E then there probably is a 6-pin connector that goes to the PSU.

Try to keep things neat. Use plastic cable ties to keep them all bundled up and out of the way. Not only will it look better if you have a window, but your case will have better airflow and keep cooler.

Try to work on a wood floor so you dont build up a static charge.

You probably know this, but whatever you do, do not turn on the computer without the heatsink on the CPU. If you don't put it on, your CPU is ****ed.
Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.