Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2012, 04:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Default Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs?

Hello everyone I just purchased a new low profile graphics card. Radeon HD 6570 PCIe 1GB DDR3 900463. And was wondering if I would be able to run Sc2 or most other games on ultra with my current specs.

- AMD Phenom II x4 820 Quad-Core Processor 2.8 Ghz

- ( My new Graphics card coming in the mail ) Radeon HD 6570 PCIe 1GB DDR3 900463 Low profile

- 1TB Hard drive

- 4 GB DDR3 Ram ( Will be upgrading to 8-12 GB DDR3 within the next month )


And yeah that is about it I really would like any feed back or at least if I can run on high? I am not to sure because most of my stuff is kinda old but yeah thanks for reading this.
__________________

Abonicz is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 08:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs?

Alot will depend on what resolution you are going to be playing at....at a lower resolution it should do pretty well, I would not say ultra settings but good settings.

If playing at a high resolution, like 1920x1080 then ultra will pretty much be completely out of the question.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 08:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs?

I would be playing on 1280 x 1024
Abonicz is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs?

No, you will not be able to play many modern games on ultra with that hardware. The video card would be your bottleneck as it's in the lower mid range in terms of performance. I would guess that you will be able to play most games on medium smoothly.
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 01:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs?

with that setup you would be able to play the COD series at that resolution at medium settings. but games like BF3, totally unplayable at any resolution.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 12:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
with that setup you would be able to play the COD series at that resolution at medium settings. but games like BF3, totally unplayable at any resolution.
I am currently able to play all modern games on medium. And I have just a video card so the graphics card would increase the chance of being able to play on high or ultra correct? And yeah I play BF3 on medium with a NVIDIA GeForce 9200 card on 20 lowest fps and 40 highest so yeah?
Abonicz is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 12:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs?

you will be able to run games at lowest settings my 6670 and fx 4100 run bf3 at ultra so if u have a 6570 i would see low to medium settings for bf3 and high for cods
Talyor is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 12:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs?

That is so weird like I swear to god I play bf3 on medium like
Abonicz is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 02:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs?

The card will be an upgrade...so I would imagine that your frames will jump up...maybe you even get to high settings, just depends on what seems smooth to you.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 02:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Default Re: Was wondering if I can run games on ultra with these specs?

Okay thank you. My friend and me just found out that I have a 220w PSU and the graphics card is a min of 270w can anyone link me to a good slimline power supply about 400w? If you can help me find 1
__________________

Abonicz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wondering if your PC can run that game? KSoD PC Gaming 3 07-05-2011 09:12 PM
Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it.... b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-15-2007 02:03 PM
Would these specs be ok to run good games? eg. doom 3 etc. lucas20042004 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 12 05-27-2005 07:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.