wnot turn on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2006, 10:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Unhappy wnot turn on

oh no i took a cpu and cooler out of a lap top to clean out the dust , and now thats back together it wont turn on

blade2006 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7

Explain a bit more, did you unplug anything or anything at all?

Nik00117 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89

first of all, you should really never take apart a laptop to begin with...just like you shouldn't really take apart a power supply or CRD monitor.

but chances something fried due to ESD
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Something probably is not set right somewhere....
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 05:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20

ok sorry some more explanation, its an asus a2500l i was doing a general upgrade to it , ram, cd ,hdd as well as cleaning out the cpu cooler , as the cpu was completley stuck to the heatsink i just undid the latch and took them both out together i was using an anti static strap so i doubt i fried somthing , the batterie has not worked in quite some time on this laptop so the only power source is the power jack i guess it is possible that i knocked somthing there , laptop has been put back to original config to see if it was the new parts but this does not make any difference.
blade2006 is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 06:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800

could of damaged the CPU or the RAM !!! maybe broke the Power AC Pins !!!

NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64

I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.