Wireless for gaming, the temptations... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2006, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Wireless for gaming, the temptations...

I am making my room into a bit of a media centre (minus WMC lol.)

I have got a IIyama 22" vision master pro 514 CRT monitor for my xbox 360, and as it has two VGA inputs, I want to connect my PC into it, and play CS:S.

So is a Logitech MX1000 any good at gaming? I may get a 518 and try and survive the wire, but it will have to go through a USB 1.1 hub (dedicated to the mouse and maybe a keyboard) will this cause a problem in performance?

And are wireless keyboards any good for gaming? I was going to assume it will be just like the xbox 360 controller, absolutley no lag.

Thanks, Trif.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I've heard wonderful things about the MX1000 as far as gaming goes. I mean, you're payin for it. If I felt the need to go wireless, I'd go with it, but you can't beat the response time and feel of the 518. Although I have no personal experience with the 1000, I've heard a lot of people being very pleased with it.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 04:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

518 is amazingggg!!!!! all the way.

Anyway 22" is way to big to game, imagine playing css on it

the details too big if u get what i mean?
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I wanted to play CS at 2048 x 1536 at 85hz on my 7800gt, and hopefuuly GTR at same res if I can find something to clamp my wheel to.

Anyone here have the MX1000?

One thing is for sure, I need a new mouse.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Considering the prices, for gaming you may aswell get the logitech g5 instead of any of them. They are all in the same price range, and thats the best for gaming. With a 2000dpi laser engine you can't go wrong
9 buttons on it too :P
C1!m@t3 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 07:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the G7 is the G5 but wireless you can look into that
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 07:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i have a cheap logitech wireless keyboard and mouse. they work great. the only problem is you have to make sure the receiver isn't blocked otherwise the response time for keyboard and mouse increases
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Anyone recomend a good wireless keyboard?

I am going to think about the mouse. Too many people talk about the feel of a good mouse, so I think I am going to have to get the 518, as long as there will not be a problem using it on USB1.1.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 09:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

It works fine on a usb 1.1 port, but while you're ordering stuff from newegg, toss in a pci card with usb2.0 slots...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 09:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Newegg don't ship to UK, and I have plenty of USB 2.0 ports on my PC.

I have 4 USB ports on my monitor, which will be about 1 1/2 meters closer to me than the PC is, so it saves me having to get an extension cable.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.