Windows Vista and gaming question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2007, 03:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Dio1080's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Default Windows Vista and gaming question?

I went ahead and order parts for a new build and was wondering in the furture when I plan on changing processors, do I have to buy another windows software?
Also, I one of my favorite games is coming out next year in 2008 summer(Diablo 3) and was wondering if the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ Brisbane and the EVGA GeForce 7900GS can handle up to date gaming?

Dio1080 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 10:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Windows Vista and gaming question?

most likely... but a bad choice is that u have windows vista on ur system... not a good choice for a gamer's OS

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 10:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 235
Default Re: Windows Vista and gaming question?

I think those components could handle some newer games but it would have to be on lower settings. no chance of high settings.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6420
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
G.SKILL 2GB DDR2 800 (2x1GB)
Seagate Barracuda 320 GB
Rosewill 550 Watt
Hanns-G 19" Widescreen
CoolerMaster Centurion 5 Mid Tower
funkywaggnelz is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Windows Vista and gaming question?

wow...Diablo 3?...Blizzard is on a roll.

If you upgrade your processor, you don't need to buy a new OS. It's only when you change the motherboard, that you would have to either buy or reinstall a new OS.


b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best windows nerves Microsoft Windows and Software 7 05-20-2007 10:37 PM
Upgrading to Vista But Amd2800 Microsoft Windows and Software 33 05-13-2007 06:52 AM
Windows Licensing questions Ethereal_Dragon Microsoft Windows and Software 8 04-14-2007 05:29 AM
upgrade to vista j3wcl@w Microsoft Windows and Software 23 03-30-2007 12:27 AM
"Upgraded" from Vista to XP beedubaya Microsoft Windows and Software 13 03-26-2007 02:00 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.