Windows Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2006, 07:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default Windows Vista

Hello all, i was just wondering what exactly is Windows Vista... Is it an upgrade or is it something like Linux. I keep reading about windows vista but it never crossed my mind on what it is. Is it a lot different then windows XP? Or is it much more advance?

What are the Pro's & Con's on this? Also i hear about Direct X 10. Is it true or is it a myth? Please let me know.

T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 07:42 PM   #2 (permalink)

Baez's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,985

this post should be under windows topics.

vista is the next windows xp to put it simply. but vista has been built from the ground up so that it is supposed to be faster and more secure than any other windows. although that is yet to be proven since we only have the beta of the ultimate version available. its a brand new operating system. also a big step with gaming because of directx 10. it should be a pretty good OS but only time will tell.


Baez is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 72

windows vista is the new operating system. the diffrence from XP is that it is alot more secure and over all smoother interface to work with.
chaosunknown is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle

Right.. I am going to the windows website to read more about it. Thanks though.
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732

vista has dx10, and was built from the ground up and will be more secure, more friendlire user interface, and has that aero and flip 3d, however to use all of vistas features you will require at least 256mb graphics card, also it is supposed to be able to boot faster with the new hybrid drives coming out. ive teseted the final on a diff comp and it is still kinda buggy since the drivers suck right now
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 08:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706

Originally posted by TheEnd187
you will require at least 256mb graphics card
where do people get this info??

if it's on the site I haven't seen it yet O.o

vista ran fine on my 128mb 6600gt 640mb ram and 2400+ (aero worked perfectly)

I believe my user rating was 3.4 or something...

I now have 1.5gb ram, so I imagine it will run better yet (just need to get a newer copy )
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
kfc469's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469


kfc469 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.