windows product keys - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2007, 02:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
steveasorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 74
Default windows product keys

I used to have a gateway before i built my current PC, i am using the same CD key as the gateway on my current PC, can i use it agian for another pc without problems?

Thanks - Steve
__________________

__________________
MSI 945P Neo3
Intel Core2duo E6400 @ 2.6Ghz - :(
Corshair XMS 4x512(2gigs)
eVga 8600GT
Aspire Cooling Case
250gig SEAGATE
DVD+CD ROM/BURNER
Antec 550W PSU
Windows XP
steveasorus is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 02:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
steveasorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 74
Default

bump!
__________________

__________________
MSI 945P Neo3
Intel Core2duo E6400 @ 2.6Ghz - :(
Corshair XMS 4x512(2gigs)
eVga 8600GT
Aspire Cooling Case
250gig SEAGATE
DVD+CD ROM/BURNER
Antec 550W PSU
Windows XP
steveasorus is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

FFS!!! theres only 17 minutes between those two posts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Get a bit more patient!!!

Anyway...
If its Xp then yes , it just means you cant DL anything from microsoft website because microsoft will class it as not 'genuine'.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Default

it shouldent do if you are only using it on one pc, it will just say that you have significally changed the hardware when you do the genuine check.

one think you could do is just not install the genuine tool thing in automatic updates, however somethings you wont be able to update (e.g. ie7).
Some people have had this problem before and i dont know why they dont just buy a new OS. (OEM xp home about £50-£60 XP PRO £80-£100).
elbow_man is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 04:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 268
Default

i've installed the xp that came with my laptop on 2 other desktops with the same cd key.. works on both, they both update everything etc. and microsoft recongnizes all 3 of them as genuine.
__________________
Intel Q9550
Gigabyte P45T - USB3P
evga 8800GTS 512MB
evga 8800GTS 512MB
Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 2x2GB
Razer Baraccuda AC-1 Sound card
Western Digital 320GB SATA
Caviar Black 1TB
Samsung 12xDVD-RAM (x2)
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Logitech G9x Mice
Logitech Z-5500 Speakers
Samsung 22" monitor
Samsung 19" monitor
Antec twelve hundred
joowan is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 05:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
steveasorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 74
Default

OK thanks guys
__________________
MSI 945P Neo3
Intel Core2duo E6400 @ 2.6Ghz - :(
Corshair XMS 4x512(2gigs)
eVga 8600GT
Aspire Cooling Case
250gig SEAGATE
DVD+CD ROM/BURNER
Antec 550W PSU
Windows XP
steveasorus is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 05:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sailpog
FFS!!! theres only 17 minutes between those two posts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Get a bit more patient!!!

hahaha he bumped it after 17 mins, lol...

but like everyone said..it will work
GSM CEO is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 06:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

Yeah the only time it wont work it if its a key off the internet, because those keys have been used by thousands of people, so they get blacklisted and wont update.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.