windows not booting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2006, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Bigtrucker700 Send a message via Yahoo to Bigtrucker700
Default windows not booting

AMD 64 Bit 3200+
K8N-E Asus 6800GT video

I tried backing up my drive and it seemed to crash during reboot using Paragon Backup 6.0. It kept rebooting from the blue screen of death. So I reinstalled that went fine except it seems all my programs are on my C drive but are not reconized. Now the new problem I thought I would get a new drive copy my drive over to it using a newer version paragon drive backup 8.0. It says it coyped but system will not reconize it. I tried going into the bios to see if it reconized the drive and it did. But now when I try to boot all I get is the splash screen. If I hit Del and try an go into the bios it just comes up to second spash screen with nvram on it and the processer. Can anyone help me get to bios. I my try and boot from floppy and see it that works. Let you know

Bigtrucker700 is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 05:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

Clear your CMOS. (pull the battery for about 20 minutes, with the power supply unplugged) You might also want to replace it, if you've had that mobo a while. and while your in there give all your connections a once over to make sure everthing is tight. If that doesn't work then I would possibly reformat onto old drive and then see if the new one is seen after that (seeing as the new drive you have, has all your data on it that you don't want to loose) but it might be a bad drive (old one)


Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 05:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Bigtrucker700 Send a message via Yahoo to Bigtrucker700

I got it going. It was the flash animation start up screen. I guess it lost the drivers. I pushed the Ctrl and F2 keys then it started looking for the cd rom with the mobo info on it. Thanks for your help
Bigtrucker700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.