will this work for my computers? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2007, 06:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default will this work for my computers?

I didn't know where to post this.

Remote Controlled Switch Socket - 2-Pack BH9936-2 0810

I was wondering if that remote turns the outlet on and off? Also I was wondering if I could plug my 7 outlet surge suppressor into it to turn on and off my computer?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: will this work for my computers?

don't see why not but turning that off wouldn't it hard boot your computer everytime?
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: will this work for my computers?

what do you mean hard boot?
Norcent is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 02:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: will this work for my computers?

"A hard reboot (also known as a cold reboot, frozen reboot, cold boot or cold start) is when power to a computer is cycled (turned off and then on) or a special reset signal to the processor is triggered (from a front panel switch of some sort). This restarts the computer without first performing any shut-down procedure. (With many operating systems, especially those using disk caches, after a hard reboot the filesystem may be in an "unclean" state, and an automatic scan of on-disk filesystem structures will be done before normal operation can begin.) It may be caused by power failure, be done by accident, or be done deliberately as a last resort to forcibly retrieve the system from instances such as a critical error or virus-inflicted DoS attack."

from Wiki....
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 02:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: will this work for my computers?

I would shut down or hibernate it and then use the remote and that would be like unplugging the power from the computer when its off.
Norcent is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 07:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: will this work for my computers?

I just emailed Computer Geeks and they said that I was right and thats exactly what its used for.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard Doesn't Work in Photoshop CS2 kfc469 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-23-2007 09:44 AM
Unable to save work into server coolray Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-20-2007 02:01 PM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.