Will it Work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 06:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default Will it Work?

Ive just got a new motherboard, processor and case, but ive got the same hard-drive, will it work without re-installing windows or anything?
__________________

fury36 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

No. Windows will not adjust to a radical change like that, unless you upgraded to similar hardware (not likely). If it did work, it would be slow as molasses.

I think you should start your non-upgraded computer, back up your data to a second hdd, cd, or dvd, and then upgrade and do a fresh installation.


-Sevoma
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default

Ok, thanks allot for the help, one problem tho, my uncle broke my non-upgraded computer... lol. Will the hard-drive work if i put it in my dads computer and set it as a slave (although it has windows xp installed on it).

And also, will i have to format my old hard-drive first, or can i just install windows xp over the one thats already on the hard-drive, or does it format the hard-drive during the installation anyway?
__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
  • MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
  • TwinMos 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
  • HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X800 XL ICEQII 256MB
  • Dell 19\" UltraSharp TFT
  • Razer Diaomondback
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • Asus TA-210 Case
http://www.ko-clan.net/Fury_Sig.jpg
fury36 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Yes, setting it up as a slave will work.

For the 2nd question: I would just delete the partition and create a new one to install to.

Good luck with your machine

-Sevoma
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default

How do i delete the partition, do i just delete the Windows folder?
__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
  • MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
  • TwinMos 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
  • HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X800 XL ICEQII 256MB
  • Dell 19\" UltraSharp TFT
  • Razer Diaomondback
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • Asus TA-210 Case
http://www.ko-clan.net/Fury_Sig.jpg
fury36 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default

*bump*

How do i delete a partition?
fury36 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fury36
*bump*

How do i delete a partition?
i think that there is an option during windows installation to delete a partition if i remember correctly.
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Might as well format it (once you remove/copy any files you want saved while it is hooked up as slave).

Windows won't recognize any programs on your hard drive once you reinstall it with the new hardware. Unless someone knows something I don't...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.