Will this work?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2009, 06:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Question Will this work??

I'm new to building PCs.
Ive tried my best to get a good build and I would like someone to review what I have set up.
I would like to know if all the components will work together and be compatible.
If one of the items selected will not work can you please recommend another item that should work.
I'm trying to make a decent system around $1000.

Comp

Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16814130339

Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16811156189

Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16813131232

Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16819115036

Hard Drive #1
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822136161

Hard Drive #2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822136218

Ram
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.aspx...N82E16820227267

Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16817139005

OS
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16832116488
__________________

krackerzli is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 07:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Will this work??

I don't know about that Mother Board. I'm a little partial to Gigabyte.

Also, you will get more millage in a quad core, especially over clocking.


8 dollar difference.


Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Use other source as well. q6600 - Google Product Search

A lot of people use Newegg, but sometimes you can find things cheaper at other sites. Like when I bought my speakers I choose zipzoomfly over Neweggg.


I don't own these, but here's a perfect example!

Newegg.com - Logitech G51 155 watts RMS 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers - Speakers

(No rebate)
LOGITECH G51 Surround Sound Speaker System 980-000100 Speakers Retail at ZipZoomfly
__________________

Simpilot is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 08:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Will this work??

I would change the motherboard to a Biostar TP45HP, it's a better board and is also cheaper.

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TForce TP45HP LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Also a HD 4850 is faster than a 9800gtx and gives you the option to add a second one fron crossfire in the future.

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100245L Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

I would keep the e8500, it's a great cpu and a much better overclocker than the q6600.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 08:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Will this work??

Great choice on RAM, I recently bought that same set and it works wonders. Your PSU might be a pinch overkill with 650w but at that price it is a steal of a deal. If you want to stick with Corsair (I recommend you do), You can go for a Corsair 550w but it is the same price as the 650w right now with the instant savings and MIRs...so I guess I it's up to you; if you plan to crossfire/sli or if you want to save a few bucks on your energy bill.
james.wired is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Will this work??

You a friend of Nukem's, krackerzli? Just wondering as to why you are using Newegg from your current location...

Nice setup you have listed. As for mobo, I would go with this one. 415 people can't all be wrong.
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Puddle's right about the 4850. If you can stretch a liiiiiiiitle further you can get this for $35 more:
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100259L Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 08:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Will this work??

You can get GTS 250 for $129.99
Newegg.com - EVGA 512-P3-1150-TR GeForce GTS 250 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
maroon1 is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 03:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Will this work??

I'd stick with the dual wolfdale and not the q6600. They suck now.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 11:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Will this work??

+1 to E8500 instead of the Q6600.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7 GreenMan415 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-29-2008 08:21 PM
New guts/old case/will this work? SirLucian System Upgrades 9 12-24-2008 12:49 PM
The New, Hopefully Bug Free Folding@Home Thread! macdude425 Folding @ Home 928 12-07-2008 07:18 PM
Will a EVGA 8600GTS [GDDR3] work in an ECS G31T-M with a Q9550? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-06-2008 06:53 PM
mic wont work WDD11791 Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 11-25-2007 07:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.