Will this work - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2007, 11:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12
Default Re: Will this work

CRAP. Looks like im going to have to order another ram stick then. Its only a single.

Is that neccesary?

rsteenoven is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 01:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12
Default Re: Will this work

Okay, I've built it, But im getting my friend to check over the wires to make sure everything is ok.

If I power it up and a wire is wrong or something, could it blow up or fry something? :P

rsteenoven is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 03:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: Will this work

It all depends on what you are using your computer for. If you are just surfing the web, downloading , and simple duties, leave your comp alone. It does those jobs efficently and a faster cpu/mobo/psu would not benefit you.

If you are a gamer, multi-tasker, or a audio or video editor, then these upgrades would be more useful.

To be perfectly honest with you, many people upgrade their computers not because there old ones dont work, but they want to have the most recent hardware. In the field of computers however, technology allows for many quick changes. You can buy a dual core cpu now and it is already going to become outdated within a year because of quad core. There are numerous other examples of this.

Therefore, I would analyze what you use your comp for. I thought I needed to stay up to date on my hardware, and upgraded once a year. Now I realize that it is a waste of money, unless you are made of it. The old hardware works fine and dandy, but this newer innovation that just came out just works a little better. Personally, I would try an upgrade maybe every two years or so.

I know this is a computer forum and many of the members will not agree with me on this, but just think about your actual needs and dont buy a new peice of hardware because of what it can do if you are not going to ultilize it.
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 03:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Will this work

Awww, you could have bought my graphics card for cheaper and gotten much more performance
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 04:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12
Default Re: Will this work

I maybe could have, but I prefer to buy from trusted and know websites (No offence)

Now I just need to find myself a cheap tft monitor, as i was testing my new comp on my other monitor for doing stress tests etc.

Anyone know where i can get pretty cheap monitors? TFT used or new as long as it works, im planning on upgrading later when i've got more money.

(Not ebay please)
rsteenoven is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 05:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
ricanflow's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Will this work

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)

P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx

ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 07:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Will this work

he's British.. and he's already built the system..

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mic wont work WDD11791 Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 11-25-2007 06:04 PM
What's your work schedule like? Ethereal_Dragon Off Topic Discussion 21 08-29-2007 08:54 AM
Windows Mobile 4.2 Work and Internet Connection SandyP84 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 08-21-2007 08:52 AM
Trying to get a D-link wireless router to work Inziladun Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 06-04-2007 03:33 PM
My Old 98-95 computer wont work..read on....... bacus23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:39 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.