Will this set up work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2009, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Will this set up work?

Ok, I've came up with a setup for a new computer that I would like to build. I'm kind of rookie but I want to stay up to date and be modern. Here is what I came up with..



Computer Case: Newegg.com - Antec Twelve Hundred Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases

Processor:Newegg.com - Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Hard Drive: SATA 1 TB (Nothing to hardcore, i.e 10,000+ RPM)

RAM: Newegg.com - OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Motherboard: Newegg.com - EVGA 132-BL-E758-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Power Supply: Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

Video Card: nVidia EVGA 9800 GTX

OS: Windows XP 64 bit

CD/DVD Drive: Standard LG Drive



I already have the Hard Drive, Video Card and the CD/DVD drive, so buying new ones wont be an option for me. ;-(

Is this all compatible with each other? If not, why? Am I making any wrong choices? Any recommendations? Thanks!
__________________

Elephant Shoe is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Will this set up work?

every thing looks good. good choice on the case
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Will this set up work?

I see no compatibility issues with any of this hardware.
Quanium is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Will this set up work?

Thanks for the quick responses. ;-) I'm glad this rig will work! And yeah, I had to be cautious on the case, the 9800 gtx is very big.
Elephant Shoe is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Will this set up work?

it's only 10.5" long fit in a antec three hundred just fine. i used to have one.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Will this set up work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
it's only 10.5" long fit in a antec three hundred just fine. i used to have one.
Yeah, currently it doesn't fit my mid-tower, so might as well go full tower for some extra cable room etc.
Elephant Shoe is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Will this set up work?

wire managment is pretty easy with this case. these are pics without my GTX 260.

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post

new antec twelve hundred and water cooling. took the pics without my GTX 260 perhaps i will do another update.



__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Will this set up work?

Wow, tons of space and looks very nice. Lots of management. Thanks for posting some pictures, I was looking for some.
Elephant Shoe is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Will this set up work?

it looks a little better now. i cleaned up some of those little random fan wires that are running all over the place and got a GTX 260 core 216 in there
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netgear WG311 v2 dosnt work with vista...please help Mooky Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 10-27-2008 09:51 PM
2 Groups of friends and work on a saturday night Harper Off Topic Discussion 11 09-30-2008 08:19 AM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.