Will SATA 150 HD work with SATA II - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2005, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to JoshC Send a message via Yahoo to JoshC
Default Will SATA 150 HD work with SATA II

I am working on building my first computer and am getting an ABIT KN8 Ultra motherboard with a Western Digital 80gig HD. The motherboard SATA interface is SATA II while the HD interface is SATA 150. Will they be compatable or will this be a problem?
__________________

JoshC is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 10:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

They are backward compatible but if you are using a interface newer than your motherboard supports then no.

ATA150 = SATA1
3.0Gb = SATA2
5.0Gb = SATA3
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 10:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

SATA II is backwards compatible with sata150

i though sata III was 6.0GB/s :?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to JoshC Send a message via Yahoo to JoshC
Default

Thanks for the help. I thought that it would work but I just wanted to double check.

Here are the rest of the specs for the system:
AMD Athlon 3500+ Venice S939
ABIT KN8 Ultra Motherboard
Leadtek 6800 256MB PCI-E x16
Corsair XMS 2x512 TWINX1024-3200C2PT
Western Digital Caviar SE 80GB HD
Lite-On DVD Burner
Sony Floppy Drive
Thermaltake 430W PS
Thermaltake Silver Steel/Plastic Mid Tower
Polyview V293 19" LCD Screen
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers

How does all of this look? I'll be using it for running Photoshop and AutoCAD while also running IE and a couple of messenger programs (multitasking).
JoshC is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Get a forton 450 Watt Power supply. Much better then That TT you have listed.

TT= thermalTake.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

as far as multitasking goes, you'll want to be using a dual-core CPU, or go the Intel route because since their P4's have Hyper-Threading they make for excellent multitaskers despite having only one core (excluding the Pentium D).
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well so you know.......the new SATAs are kind of pointless....if you're transferring data from two harddrives and only one is SATAII...then the SATAII will only work as fast as the slower one....same with CD drives and things like that.....

also the RPMs of the hard drive come into play...if you look at the specs it's the seek time and write times that really matter as they determine the actual difference in speed.

So while the interface are technically rated for said speeds, it won't necessarily be going anywhere close to that.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshC
Thanks for the help. I thought that it would work but I just wanted to double check.

Here are the rest of the specs for the system:
AMD Athlon 3500+ Venice S939
ABIT KN8 Ultra Motherboard
Leadtek 6800 256MB PCI-E x16
Corsair XMS 2x512 TWINX1024-3200C2PT
Western Digital Caviar SE 80GB HD
Lite-On DVD Burner
Sony Floppy Drive
Thermaltake 430W PS
Thermaltake Silver Steel/Plastic Mid Tower
Polyview V293 19" LCD Screen
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers

How does all of this look? I'll be using it for running Photoshop and AutoCAD while also running IE and a couple of messenger programs (multitasking).
if your on a budget, i would drop down to a 3200+ and upgrade your graphics card to a 6800GS. But if you have more money, defintely get a better psu and get a dual core with 2GB of memory and switch the mobo to a MSI K8N NEO4-F
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'm not a fan of corsair xms.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
i'm not a fan of corsair xms.
yeah me either, too overpriced for cheapy ram, but their valueselect ram is good

if you arent OC'ing go with valueselect ram for like 80 dollars. If you are pick up the OCZ el platinum revision 2 for around 150 bucks

i think their XMS series is just their valueselect in heatspreaders
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.